Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Jeffromusic
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:36 am

Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Jeffromusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:34 pm

Does anyone know how to fix this.. I'm using Omnisphere and with this plugin you need to have multiple tracks with External instruments attached to it in order use more sounds. But when I'm browsing through sounds I have to select the omnisphere track which automatically arms it for some reason. It's hard to audition sounds when 2 sounds are playing at the same time... Check the picture for an example.



Image

The track that's armed with a red circle is the one that I want to be armed... The one with the pink arm button, is doing this by itself. wtf

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:00 pm

+1

Very very interested in how to stop this!

I don't understand this function at all?

piZMo
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 12:46 am
Location: London, England.

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by piZMo » Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:30 pm

check insider tips series by Sonic Bloom. Options.txt

Jeffromusic
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:36 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Jeffromusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:51 pm

piZMo wrote:check insider tips series by Sonic Bloom. Options.txt
Thanks man this worked.

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:01 pm

Can you point me to the prpoer place to drop this .txt file

Im on OSX 10.8.3

I cant seem to find.........

HD/User/(Name)/???Library??? I can't find the user Library like in OSX 10.4

I've got

HD/Library/?????? but no Ableton Folder?

Thanks

nbinder
Posts: 867
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by nbinder » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:06 pm

There are two Library folders and you are looking for the "Application Support" folder.

One is
/Users/YourName/Library
and the other
/Library

What you need is I guess /Users/YourName/Library/Application\ Support/Ableton/....

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:14 pm

That doesn't exist on my 10.8.3

I found HD/Library/Application support/ - NO ABLETON Folder -
Last edited by Asymmetricalmusic on Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nbinder
Posts: 867
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by nbinder » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:16 pm

Asymmetricalmusic wrote:That doesn't exist on my 10.8.3
I guess it is hidden.

In Finder:
Shift + Cmd + G

Then type in /Users/YourName/Library and press "Open".

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:19 pm

File can not be found message....???

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:28 pm

If i go to my (UserName) and do Shift Cmd G and put Library in the search window

it opens a new Finder window that shows me the Library (I think......it's only temporary too)

I have
Applictaion Support /Ableton/

the folder that appear here are

Bug Reporting
Index 1.0
Library
Live 7.0.18
Live 9.0.2
Live 9.0.3
Live Reports

I'm using 9.0.2 so assume it goes there

I have two folders there
Database
Unlock

Is this right?

nbinder
Posts: 867
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by nbinder » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:31 pm

According to
https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/opt ... file-live/

you simply put the file there :D

Oh. It's not in Application Support but rather in Preferences. Oops.

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:37 pm

Awesome! Got it!

Why is my Mac User Library hidden from me

It wasn't like this in OSX 10.4

nbinder
Posts: 867
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:47 pm

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by nbinder » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:40 pm

Asymmetricalmusic wrote:Why is my Mac User Library hidden from me
It wasn't like this in OSX 10.4
I guess it is hidden now because you barely have to use it.

But there is an easier way to go to it:
https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/acc ... n-folders/

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Wed May 01, 2013 12:00 am

Damn

I got it placed but it's not working and L9 is taking a few seconds longer to boot

I've got to see what I'm doing wrong

Why Can't my Textedit application save a .txt????

steko
Posts: 3350
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:29 pm

Re: Ableton 9 auto arms whatever track is selected.. wtf

Post by steko » Wed May 01, 2013 12:21 am

Text Edit -> Menu -> Format -> Make Plain Text (cmd+shift+T) -> save as Options.txt

http://sonicbloom.net/en/tag/options-txt/page/2/

http://www.macworld.com/article/1161156 ... _lion.html
Rahad Jackson wrote:My Awesome Mix Tape #6

Post Reply