8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Pasha
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Post by Pasha » Sat May 04, 2013 6:23 pm

Just guessing how much RAM is best to have.
I will use just Live 9 Suite plus Zebra Plug In.
Live works fine today with 4GB RAM but getting a new Mac in the next month or so
I could improve RAM.

How much do you suggest?

Best
Pasha
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

SuburbanThug
Posts: 1479
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: 8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Post by SuburbanThug » Sat May 04, 2013 6:25 pm

0 gigs would be best. Hard to find though. You definitely don't want too much RAM. Your computer could become sentient and believe me you, that's a day you don't want to have.

Pasha
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Re: 8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Post by Pasha » Sat May 04, 2013 6:59 pm

SuburbanThug wrote:0 gigs would be best. Hard to find though. You definitely don't want too much RAM. Your computer could become sentient and believe me you, that's a day you don't want to have.
:-)
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: 8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Post by eyeknow » Sat May 04, 2013 7:45 pm

I've had 8 gigs since I built this computer 3 1/2 years ago and haven't run into any ram issues. I think you have to have some seriously crazy stuff to need more. If money is tight, I wouldn't worry about going higher.

theextravaganttraveller
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: 8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Post by theextravaganttraveller » Sat May 04, 2013 8:30 pm

If you plan on working with lots of sample-based instruments, like Kontakt, I would recommend going with 16gb. If you are mostly using softsynths, then 8gb should be fine for you.

I have 8gb in my iMac and machine definitely starts to chug on large sessions. I'm using loads of Kontakt instruments. Upgrading to 12gb now.

My advice:

If you have only two RAM slots on your new machine, then go with 16gb - 2 x 8gb sticks. You don't want to be throwing away RAM if you decide you need extra RAM later. If you have four slots, then start with the 8gb (2 x 4gb sticks) then add more RAM to the other slots if you need to later.

Lastly, DO NOT get your extra RAM from Apple. They charge arm and a leg. Get it from Crucial or OWC. Quality, reliable RAM at very reasonable prices. Their 8gb (2x4gb) kit is currently around $65.
Last edited by theextravaganttraveller on Sat May 04, 2013 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wildcon
Posts: 737
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Re: 8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Post by wildcon » Sat May 04, 2013 8:41 pm

Lastly, DO NOT get your extra RAM from Apple. They charge arm and a leg. Get it from Crucial or OWC. Quality, reliable RAM at very reasonable prices
This - Definitely :)
MacBook Pro, Mojave, Live 10, Logic Pro X, UAD Apollo & Satellites, UAD, NI Komplete, Izotope, Korg, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Waves plugs.

Pasha
Posts: 3241
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Re: 8 or 16 GB RAM for Live 9 Suite?

Post by Pasha » Sun May 05, 2013 5:36 am

theextravaganttraveller wrote:If you plan on working with lots of sample-based instruments, like Kontakt, I would recommend going with 16gb. If you are mostly using softsynths, then 8gb should be fine for you.

I have 8gb in my iMac and machine definitely starts to chug on large sessions. I'm using loads of Kontakt instruments. Upgrading to 12gb now.

My advice:

If you have only two RAM slots on your new machine, then go with 16gb - 2 x 8gb sticks. You don't want to be throwing away RAM if you decide you need extra RAM later. If you have four slots, then start with the 8gb (2 x 4gb sticks) then add more RAM to the other slots if you need to later.

Lastly, DO NOT get your extra RAM from Apple. They charge arm and a leg. Get it from Crucial or OWC. Quality, reliable RAM at very reasonable prices. Their 8gb (2x4gb) kit is currently around $65.
Thanks! I know Apple charges a lot for RAM. I am looking for an iMac so maybe the stock and non upgradable RAM is enough for my needs. 8Gb should be plenty, considering the other answers. :-)
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

Post Reply