maschine or ableton? or both?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
The Carpet Cleaner
Posts: 1128
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 2:21 pm
Location: Paris

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by The Carpet Cleaner » Mon May 13, 2013 10:26 pm

I have both and both are fun to use.
I use maschine as vst in Live.

Dillinger63
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:12 am

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by Dillinger63 » Tue May 14, 2013 1:16 am

If I may hi-jack this for a moment for those of you who use it quite often, what is Ver.2 of Maschine software supposed to do?

crybo
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by crybo » Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 am

Just got Live 9 suite in March, but have been using Maschine for just over 2 years. Still find it easier to create in Maschine just now, but getting to grips with Live and loving it so far. I love Maschine for its ease of use and speed in coming up with a track, but in the long run Live just offers so much more, especially loving the fx and drum racks. Now if only I could get my hands on a Push here in Scotland.

yur2die4
Posts: 6423
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by yur2die4 » Tue May 14, 2013 1:25 am

There is no version 2.

They are at 1.8.2

Dillinger63
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 3:12 am

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by Dillinger63 » Tue May 14, 2013 1:37 am

yur2die4 wrote:There is no version 2.

They are at 1.8.2
Ok, I thought I read some where that Ver. 2 is in the works and soon to be released.

yur2die4
Posts: 6423
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by yur2die4 » Tue May 14, 2013 2:00 am

I'd wait on a press release. Other than that, it's about as speculative as Ableton 10, or 11, or maybe 12.

I do not see what can be gained from pretending it is out, or even worrying about it in the least until there is official word. And even then, one would have to wait until it actually came out.

I've never understood people's anticipation or expectations of a next version aside from when a developer officially makes notice.

justchris86
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:33 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by justchris86 » Tue May 14, 2013 7:54 pm

i really dont like the work flow on the maschine. I prefer ableton.
"Do not quote or read this text"

https://soundcloud.com/modernmaestros

Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by Buleriachk » Tue May 14, 2013 8:07 pm

I really think it depends on the work one is trying to do.
They each have their strengths.... and weaknesses...
justchris86 wrote:i really dont like the work flow on the maschine. I prefer ableton.

djgrits7
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 10:31 pm

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by djgrits7 » Wed May 22, 2013 3:22 am

so many great tips thanks guys!

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by kevwestbeats » Wed May 22, 2013 5:13 am

djgrits7 wrote:ok guys, so i got maschine and it's loaded... also, i've had live 8 for awhile but pretty much bare bones, not a whole lot of extra instruments, etc etc... sooo, i'm at this point where i'm thinking, geez if maschine has pretty much already what ableton has, why should i go pay for the extra stuff packs in ableton? where's the difference/advantages? i'm always going to stick with ableton but my preference right now is to just bring maschine into ableton and work with that... any big stuff i'm missin out on because i'm using maschine's synths, sounds, etc etc over ableton's???
That is pretty much how I work. I use Ableton for my plug ins so I can mix my instrumentals but outside of that building beats and melodies and arrangements are all in maschine it works well but i dont like trying to mix stuff in Maschine. Not much better in Live but its still better.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

tintala
Posts: 456
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by tintala » Wed May 22, 2013 2:25 pm

Do not forget that all vst's can be loaded in Maschine from Maschine while in Live. I have been having loads of fun and creativity by using Maschine instead of "drum racks" or "instrument racks" 128's.. With Maschine one can have 8 banks of 128s all you have to do is press A, B, C, D etc. you can eve throw on seperate fx on each sound from Maschine... i love it and learned alot from watching the Bass Kleph videos on pyramind.But it has taken me about 2 years to really dig deep into Maschine using Live..now I use 128s and Maschine...

but you must have a powerful cpu as well as shit loads of RAm, I am on a i5 core, with 16 gb working from a ssd drive...

kevwestbeats
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 1:05 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: maschine or ableton? or both?

Post by kevwestbeats » Wed May 22, 2013 4:27 pm

Why bother loading vsts into Maschine if its a vst in Live? Its still single core so Live would handle those plug ins better. I prefer Maschine as a sampler/drum machine and sequencing with Live though. That is a great way to work. I just miss having things like note repeat available to me when I do.
http://www.KevWestBeats.com
http://www.YouTube.com/DjKevWest
http://www.Facebook.com/KevWestbeats
http://www.Twitter.com/KevWestBeats

Live 9, Komplete 9, Maschine MK2, IK Total Studio, XLN Audio Addictive Keys and Addictive Drums, All of FXpansion's fx.

Post Reply