CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
tjeandabezies
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am

CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by tjeandabezies » Fri May 17, 2013 12:27 am

I'll start out by saying that I recently built a desktop PC.

I am running Windows 7 and 32 bit Ableton Live 9 Suite (because not all plugins are 64 bit).

8 GB RAM
2 TB data hard drive (G) (samples and projects here)
128 GB SSD (C) (applications here)
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 audio interface
ASIO4All driver

THE PROBLEM:

When I play back my projects, it starts out using a normal CPU amount (10-20%). Over time, it gets higher and then starts to spike to over 100%. This leads to dropout and even higher CPU readings.

I look at my task manager, and CPU usage is normal throughout (around 20%).
There is also an Ableton Index which uses about the same CPU percentage. If I Collect All and Save to (C:) rather than (G:), the index percent goes to 0%)

I collect all and save to my local drive (drive C) so to eliminate the possibility of the problem being caused by files being stored on separate drives.

This does not work.

Drivers are up to date.

VST's are all legit (not torrented)


WHAT I'VE DONE SO FAR:

I've defragged all HD's, backed up to external drive, restored and reinstalled everything, played with different buffers and latencies. NOTHING WORKS



My only conclusion is that the problem is caused by a problem with my audio settings (somehow)


Help me please?!? I've been trying to figure this out for weeks

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by 3dot... » Fri May 17, 2013 11:53 am

HIGHER AUDIO BUFFER SIZE
Image

RaidenOffKey
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:04 am
Location: Bristol UK
Contact:

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by RaidenOffKey » Fri May 17, 2013 12:43 pm

It may be the buffer, but a few people are having issues thats definitely not the buffer.
https://www.ableton.com/answers/what-ca ... ems-i-have
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=192802&hilit=cpu+spikes
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=193081


Anytime I add an instrument playing a pad sound the cpu spikes from 10% - 150%+ no matter how small the project. I've also tried 3 different audio interfaces to no avail.

I've contacting support like they asked in the beta forum. Fingers crossed.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4218
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by fishmonkey » Fri May 17, 2013 1:27 pm

tjeandabezies wrote: Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 audio interface
ASIO4All driver
don't Focusrite provide their own actual ASIO driver? why are you using ASIO4All at all?

tjeandabezies
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by tjeandabezies » Fri May 17, 2013 9:11 pm

Changing the buffer size doesn't help... And it's also a pain the butt when I try to play something on my MPK25 because it has like a 1 second lag from push to playback.

I originally had a Presonus Audiobox, but the drivers wouldn't install. So I switched to the Scarlett. I also have a Novation Twitch which has a built-in interface, and that didnt work either.

I ran Malwarebytes and BitDefender... Malwarebytes came back with zero hits. BitDefender found 2 infected files. The files were for tormented VST's, but the VST's weren't installed.

Now the problem is with the actual CPU usage meter and not the Ableton CPU meter.

I took it in to a shop to get looked at. Will get back with an update.

I'm thinking it is either the processor which is an i5, my video card (because I use 2 displays), or the factory sound card which is powered by Nvidia.

tjeandabezies
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by tjeandabezies » Fri May 17, 2013 9:13 pm

Oh also... You are correct about the Asio driver for Focusrite. That is the one I was using and not Asio4all

moonpie
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:22 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by moonpie » Fri May 17, 2013 10:06 pm

Delete your prefs file. Sometimes works.

tjeandabezies
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by tjeandabezies » Sat May 18, 2013 8:04 am

What is the "prefs file"?

I've been on a MacBook Pro until I built this desktop PC 2 weeks ago, so I am only familiar with as much as I've come in contact with through troubleshooting and trying new things based on other forum posts.

tjeandabezies
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by tjeandabezies » Sat May 18, 2013 8:11 am

I've contacting support like they asked in the beta forum. Fingers crossed.[/quote]


Have you heard anything back? Sounds somewhat similar to my problem...

If I load the same projects on my MacBook Pro, I have no problems with CPU spikes at all...

VST load time is normal for me, but playback is the problem( even when I freeze multiple Midi tracks)

tjeandabezies
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by tjeandabezies » Sat May 18, 2013 8:13 am

moonpie wrote:Delete your prefs file. Sometimes works.
What is the "prefs file"?

I've been on a MacBook Pro until I built this desktop PC 2 weeks ago, so I am only familiar with as much as I've come in contact with through troubleshooting and trying new things based on other forum posts.

tjeandabezies
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 12:08 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by tjeandabezies » Sat May 18, 2013 8:15 am

RaidenOffKey wrote:It may be the buffer, but a few people are having issues thats definitely not the buffer.
https://www.ableton.com/answers/what-ca ... ems-i-have
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=192802&hilit=cpu+spikes
viewtopic.php?f=52&t=193081


Anytime I add an instrument playing a pad sound the cpu spikes from 10% - 150%+ no matter how small the project. I've also tried 3 different audio interfaces to no avail.

I've contacting support like they asked in the beta forum. Fingers crossed.

Have you heard anything back? Sounds somewhat similar to my problem...

If I load the same projects on my MacBook Pro, I have no problems with CPU spikes at all...

VST load time is normal for me, but playback is the problem( even when I freeze multiple Midi tracks)

Fanu
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by Fanu » Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:19 pm

Any help would be welcome. Very frustrated and desperate.
Already had to quit one live performance because of this.
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

MArc75_RLP
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:10 am

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by MArc75_RLP » Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:14 am

Hi,

your Powermanagement Options are disabled or switched to always full speed? In my case that helps to eliminate that issue, no crackling and no unstable CPU usage Meter anymore!


regards

Fanu
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by Fanu » Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:31 am

MArc75_RLP wrote:Hi,

your Powermanagement Options are disabled or switched to always full speed? In my case that helps to eliminate that issue, no crackling and no unstable CPU usage Meter anymore!


regards
You mean set
"computer sleep -> never",
"display sleep -> never" and
"put hard disks to sleep -> off"

?
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

Fanu
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Helsinki

Re: CPU Spikes with Audio Interface (Issues)

Post by Fanu » Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:39 am

well, that didnt help.
Image
Mastering & mixing by Fanu | Ableton Live Basics tutorial video
Mixing and mastering engineer | Ableton Certified Trainer

Post Reply