Page 1 of 1

A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 12:50 am
by CancerRidden
Hi, on the master track there I have automated the speakers to cut out, because I wanted to do a temp drop out of all noise.

BUT, there is one track that I want to persist. Is there a way for me to have that one track bypass the speaker cut off on the Master that I have automated?

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 1:01 am
by yur2die4
This might not be ideal, but you can set the output of that channel directly to the speakers instead of Master.

The only drawback being, it will not have any mastering fx.

Alternatively, you can do the same using Return channels. Or if you really want to get goofy, send all channels to Sends only. Have an A and B, both going to Mastr and just cut out the A when you want B to pass through.

Or yet another thing to play with is the cross fader.

Edit: I must also mention that anything bypassing the Master, will probably not show up in a final rendered track. In a live or production situation that might be what you're going for. But of it is for a track, you'll have to probably use crossfades.

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 1:04 am
by CancerRidden
For the record I can't group everything into a gigantic group and leave the one track out because I already have a bunch of tracks grouped.... and when I try to group again, the option disappears.

I guess ableton doesn't allow groups within groups.

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 5:26 am
by Rinsemeister
Assign all your groups to a separate audio track which is assigned to master. When you mute that audio track all that will go to master is the track assigned to master.
This is assuming the track that you want to hear is not contained in any of the groups. :idea:

Also you may want to assign your returns to the same track.....

There are lots of variables but routing options are there to achieve the desired effect.

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 9:03 am
by mots
on the track you want to bypass the master track FX,
-in the I/O section, select "Ext. Out.", then "1/2" (which are usually assigned to the same output as the master track.)

side effect : it also bypasses the volume fader and pan knob of the master track.

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 10:55 am
by erikomic
With clyph-x you can pretty much make an automation clip that recall those kind of mixing settings + plenty of other things.

The simplest way I see is to use "multimap device" in M4L that you can automate on any track and that you can map to the ON/OFF of an effect rack on the master.

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 11:32 am
by fishmonkey
there's no sense in making it unnecessarily complicated. just use a pair of tracks as sub-group masters, like you would on a real mixing desk. then just mute the desired sub-group.

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 12:56 pm
by erikomic
Sorry misread the problem.


"A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?"
tought this was the problem not some ON/OFF routing

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 12:58 pm
by erikomic
erikomic wrote:Sorry misread the problem.
+1 with fishmonkey

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 6:31 pm
by Rinsemeister
Which is kind of what I said.....

Re: A way for a track to bypass the effects on the master track?

Posted: Sun May 19, 2013 7:22 pm
by miekwave
CancerRidden wrote:Hi, on the master track there I have automated the speakers to cut out, because I wanted to do a temp drop out of all noise.

BUT, there is one track that I want to persist. Is there a way for me to have that one track bypass the speaker cut off on the Master that I have automated?
1. Make two new audio tracks. Name them "Master Submix 1" and "Master Submix 2".
2. Change input mode to "Live Monitoring" mode.
3. Change the "MASTER OUTPUT" on all tracks to "Master Submix 1"
4. Duplicate the desired "non-cut" track
5. Change the desired "non-cut" track output to "Master Submix 2"

Wa-la, now you can temp cut tracks but keep a retainer track open. :)