Will Lives PDC bug Cause MIDI automation to go out of time?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
RD444
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:59 pm

Will Lives PDC bug Cause MIDI automation to go out of time?

Post by RD444 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:41 pm

I have some cool ASL sounds in Massive.
They have 8 Cool Macro controls on the Massive synth.
I set up my MIDI controller to correspond to the 8 Massive Macro knobs.
If I jam some automation - will it be affected by Lives PDC bug and go out of time if i add FX and mastering etc to my music

I have been really put off automation after buying live because as the project progresses Live starts playing it all out of time (the PDC bug)

I dont profess to really know 100% about the PDC bug all I know for shore is its a bummer.

If i perform the above action and record midi automation of Macro knobs on Massive - then add Plugins anywhere will it start to play out of time?

Cheers
"Plugin Delay compensation -PDC WARNING - Ableton Live 9 does not sequence all information correctly in time"
The bigger the project the more out of time it will be.

login
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Will Lives PDC bug Cause MIDI automation to go out of time?

Post by login » Mon Jun 03, 2013 8:34 pm

depends on the plug in, just try it and see for yourself

theophilus
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:54 pm

Re: Will Lives PDC bug Cause MIDI automation to go out of time?

Post by theophilus » Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:42 pm

generally, automating a synth is OK.

it's mostly automation of effects later in the chain, and/or effects that use midi sync.

TTOZ
Posts: 99
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:05 am

Re: Will Lives PDC bug Cause MIDI automation to go out of time?

Post by TTOZ » Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:38 am

it's not just automation, effects with rhythm lock can be completely out of time.
I am bitwig, pick me, pick me, i now hAs midi export!

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Will Lives PDC bug Cause MIDI automation to go out of time?

Post by pencilrocket » Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:24 am

How about using low latency plugins?
Image

TheCoil
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: Will Lives PDC bug Cause MIDI automation to go out of time?

Post by TheCoil » Wed Nov 20, 2013 5:09 pm

I know this has been talked to death, but wasn't PDC supposed to be addressed in 9.1 or was that wishful thinking? As someone who composes music as a job, I can't believe I still have to deal with this Mickey Mouse bullshit if I want to use this DAW.

Post Reply