Livecontrol 2

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
The Northern Contingent
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by The Northern Contingent » Mon Jun 10, 2013 4:08 am

fishmonkey wrote:
The Northern Contingent wrote:Well, I think an adhoc network is the way forward for me. Wifi is just too flaky and as yet I haven't had any problems adhoc. Weird problem though - wonder why Wifi works ok on a different network?
can your computer see the iPad on the network, e.g. from iTunes?

in the end an ad hoc network is usually better, because then the wifi connection is more or less restricted to the computer and iPad. if you go through your wifi router then other activity on the network increase the likelihood of flakiness.
Now you mention it wireless transfer through iTunes is touch and go as well. Oh well, never mind - thanks for all your help!

Dan Dare
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:31 am

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by Dan Dare » Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:56 am

Hi guys,

Just been messing about with LiveControl 2, I have been trying to get the names of my drum rack cells to appear in the sequencer page, I'm assuming it doesn't work like that. It just gives the names of the midi piano note, but would be helpful if names of cells were displayed for programming. Any of you more experienced users know if I'm missing something here?

Cheers!!

ST8
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 12:55 pm

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by ST8 » Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:35 am

Dan Dare wrote:Hi guys,

Just been messing about with LiveControl 2, I have been trying to get the names of my drum rack cells to appear in the sequencer page, I'm assuming it doesn't work like that. It just gives the names of the midi piano note, but would be helpful if names of cells were displayed for programming. Any of you more experienced users know if I'm missing something here?

Cheers!!
Not possible im afraid, drum sample names are not exposed to the LiveAPI

drez
Posts: 497
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:23 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by drez » Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:19 pm

ST8 wrote:
Dan Dare wrote:Hi guys,

Just been messing about with LiveControl 2, I have been trying to get the names of my drum rack cells to appear in the sequencer page, I'm assuming it doesn't work like that. It just gives the names of the midi piano note, but would be helpful if names of cells were displayed for programming. Any of you more experienced users know if I'm missing something here?

Cheers!!
Not possible im afraid, drum sample names are not exposed to the LiveAPI
DRAT!
http://www.twitter.com/dreznicek
http://www.soundcloud.com/dreznicek
MacBook Pro Retina Laptop, 2.7Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM, 500G SSD, Live 9, Push, Novation SL25 Mk2, iPad (TouchOSC, Lemur, Touch-Able), Reason

Captain Johnson
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:03 am
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by Captain Johnson » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:06 am

Not very next gen in that sense, why can't there be a work around for it!! :|

wildcon
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by wildcon » Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:23 pm

Hi there,

Okay, I'm not that techy, so sorry if this seems obvious.

This looks like a godsend for me, but I don't want to be buggering around with wi-fi.

Obviously the iControl+ seems to work as a link, but it's a bit cumbersome and expensive.

I can get the iRigmidi and the Line 6 midi from the Apple store, so was looking to one of these.

However, just checking the website, I can't see how this works (other than for attaching keyboards and other midi devices).
Does the usb 'input' to the iRig midi act as an 'output' to my mac (and live) from the ipad and Lemur?

Any help appreciated

Cheers
MacBook Pro, High Sierra, Live 10, Logic Pro X, Komplete 12, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Camel, Waves plugs.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4071
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by fishmonkey » Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:46 pm

wildcon wrote: Obviously the iControl+ seems to work as a link, but it's a bit cumbersome and expensive.

I can get the iRigmidi and the Line 6 midi from the Apple store, so was looking to one of these.

However, just checking the website, I can't see how this works (other than for attaching keyboards and other midi devices).
Does the usb 'input' to the iRig midi act as an 'output' to my mac (and live) from the ipad and Lemur?
neither the iRig MIDI nor the Line 6 MIDI Mobilizer will act as a MIDI interface to a computer via USB. you computer would need a MIDI interface as well.

the iConnectMIDI2+ doesn't cost much more, and it will connect your iOS device to your computer (plus a whole lot of other features). the other advantage is that you don't have to have the unit hanging off your iPad.

Zubben
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by Zubben » Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:46 pm

Great work ST8, been playing with this a bit just to start getting used to it and see if I can implement it on my live set mainly for the clip launcher.

I noticed a bug or maybe it is due to my adhoc, but if I have a few clips launched and press stop all, some of them still stay blinking like they are still playing (even though they aren't), scrolling up or down solves the issue (I guess it just refreshes again).

wildcon
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by wildcon » Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:18 pm

neither the iRig MIDI nor the Line 6 MIDI Mobilizer will act as a MIDI interface to a computer via USB. you computer would need a MIDI interface as well.

the iConnectMIDI2+ doesn't cost much more, and it will connect your iOS device to your computer (plus a whole lot of other features). the other advantage is that you don't have to have the unit hanging off your iPad.
Great. Thanks for the info :)

I actually have a midi interface I used to use for my Faderfoxes, so may go that route. Will check out the iConnectMIDi2 as well.

Cheers
MacBook Pro, High Sierra, Live 10, Logic Pro X, Komplete 12, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Camel, Waves plugs.

wildcon
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by wildcon » Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:51 pm

Hi,

I'm just looking to set up the wi fi until I can get a midi input.

How do you get the Lemur Daemon installed?

I can't seem to find an answer on the Liine site!

I have the Livecontrol2 file in my live folder and have installed the Lemur Editor.

Thanks
MacBook Pro, High Sierra, Live 10, Logic Pro X, Komplete 12, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Camel, Waves plugs.

The Northern Contingent
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by The Northern Contingent » Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:58 pm

LiveControl 2 is a template that needs installing on your iPad through the Lemur Editor. You can download the editor and daemon through the link below...

http://liine.net/en/support/lemur

The daemon is bundled in with the editor installer. Once you have the editor open and the Lemur app running on your iPad, check the daemon has picked up the iPad by clicking on its symbol. I tend to use an adhoc network rather than WiFi, but I think that's because my WiFi router is crap.

Once the daemon has picked up your iPad, click the 'Sync' button in the Lemur Editor. This will send your template to the iPad. Set up the relevant MIDI port in Ableton and you should be good to go.

Hope that helps.

wildcon
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Location: West London

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by wildcon » Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:48 pm

Hi There,

Thank for the advice :)

All up and running and pretty awesome :)

I can't seem to get the sequencer to work though which is a drag, and can't find how to access the velocity.

Also the focus doesn't seem to work. i.e. if I select a track in Lemur Live doesn't focus / move to that track.

Probably all driver error :?
MacBook Pro, High Sierra, Live 10, Logic Pro X, Komplete 12, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Camel, Waves plugs.

h3rtz
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 9:35 am
Location: Beijing

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by h3rtz » Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:57 am

i got Lemur a while ago because it seemed to be the only midi control app that offered wired midi connection at that time. i think it still is though. my laptop cant handle wifi card switched on plus live running. i get terrible audio drop outs.

so i got a 1st gen line6 midi mobilizer and an app called midi bridge for ipad (2nd gen doesnt need additional app i believe). then the whole thing goes into midi in/out of my midi keyboard which is usb connected to my laptop et voila, gets recognized and works like a charm.

many hardware controllers and audio interfaces feature 5-pin midi in/out so acquiring something like iconnect may be unnecessary for most people. in that case iRig or midi mobilizer or anything similar does the job for little money and without the hassles of a wifi connection.

hope this is helpful for someone.

Captain Johnson
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:03 am
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by Captain Johnson » Thu Jun 13, 2013 11:32 am

Anyone tell me if you can lock effects macros before I go splashing out?? :mrgreen:

mr.ergonomics
Posts: 914
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 3:12 am

Re: Livecontrol 2

Post by mr.ergonomics » Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:42 pm

does anyone have experience if it work ok on an ipad1?

Post Reply