Ableton Live 9 - Dear God... No.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
MoRbIdBoY

Ableton Live 9 - Dear God... No.

Post by MoRbIdBoY » Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:37 am

So I've like been in IT some 30 years. I'm also a keen amateur musician and producer, mainly in advertising and commercials.

I've got some 5 hard drives, around 2TB of material, samples, samplers. Strangely large, you might think. But no it isn't. It isn't strange at all. Not even close to strange for a producer.

I've had a look around your forums. This has been brought up A LOT. viewtopic.php?f=1&t=190475&start=15. But strangely no one seems to care. THAT is strange. (He's actually right about "Everything", I use it. He's more intelligent than your programmers and designers and engineers, but you didn't listen to him, I assume he used to be a customer as well).

I added all 5 drives into the Ableton 9 browser. After 2 FULL days (I let it run for a laugh - honestly, the only satisfaction was proving myself right), it produced an 2.6 gb SQL database.

Sine then (and during that 2 day period) Ableton was unusable due to disk thrashing. Still is. Stupidly unusable. Takes 10 minutes to start up fully to a point where I can search. Then it takes another 10 minutes to return any results. Even when I'm not doing ANYTHING it's disk thrashing to see if anything has changed on my 5 hard drives, lol. And I do mean LOL. (BTW, You DO know samplers use direct from disk and they REALLY don't like disk thrashing, AT ALL).

So I don't understand. I KNOW you KNOW what DFD is. I KNOW you KNOW an SQL database running in a sequencer is an epically bad design decision. Abandoning users with Ableton 8 libraries? - again, complete lack of respect and understanding (Yes, I do know you can still use it... and if you don't know what I'm talking about you simply don't care enough for me to bother explaining).