Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
kukhar
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:57 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by kukhar » Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:09 am

Another thing - TRAKTOR PRO ALSO does NOT recognize the line-ins from the back panel. The front ones - yes. (I tried to mix in the synth to the Traktor.

kukhar
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:57 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by kukhar » Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:11 am

Traktor Pro ALSO does not "see" the back panel inputs, the front ones - yes. (I tried mixing the Synthesizer in)

slijanjulien
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:04 am

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by slijanjulien » Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:56 pm

I have the EXACT same problem with the Scarlett 18i8; anyone found a solution?
I wrote to Focusrite too, I hope they reply soon.
Julien

Regrind
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:42 am
Location: BNA

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by Regrind » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:41 pm

From what I've read online my best advice would be sell them on eBay, take the cash and buy anything made by Presonus. No worries equals more production time.
https://soundcloud.com/mistergupton
I make beats on an old Huggies box.

jszy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:22 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by jszy » Thu Jun 13, 2013 4:35 am

kukhar wrote:
jszy wrote:well, i tried Reaper, Adobe Audition, Live 9.04 trial version, same thing man, same thing
Same problem with Scarlett 18i8 - tried everything. The line inputs show up in the Scarlet Mixer,
and do not show up in Ableton.
Assuming it is the driver (would be difficult to think it's a hardware problem, since the inputs do actually work)...
I wrote Focusrite about this, waiting for the reply.
Problem is... I asked a girl to pick it up from New York for me (ordered from B&H over the phone), and I'm in Russia. Would be a whole huge hassle to return it. She was also stupid enough to throw the box away for her convenience on an airplane : (
Sorry for the lyrical straying away.
If someone gets this resolved, please DO let us know. Many thanks.
Focusrite support replied my email, the guy said it's probably a driver/software problem, and the problem should be solved once a new driver comes out, so don't worry about returning the 18i8.

jszy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:22 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by jszy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 5:53 am

FYI, the company (where i bought the scarlett 18i8) told me, the 18i8 works on pro tools, but not on ableton live (and reaper, according to my test...)

kukhar
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:57 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by kukhar » Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:28 am

jszy wrote:FYI, the company (where i bought the scarlett 18i8) told me, the 18i8 works on pro tools, but not on ableton live (and reaper, according to my test...)
Which is ridiculous , - a card is assumed to work on all DAWs, let alone Ableton. Also got a response from the techs, they act as if this is the 1st time they hear it. As far as everyone massively returning it, they are buying time by telling us "should" and "soon" "might" be resolved.
Number one thing for a card , a DJ, a musician is stability.
I had Fast Track Ultra before this, which is not nearly of as high of a quality, but Once I installed it, Never even thought about its existence - it was 100 per cent stable.

jszy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:22 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by jszy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:35 am

i know what you mean, especially when we spent quite a bit of money on this interface... it's expected to just work without any troubles...
feel so bad not choosing to buy Akai EiE Pro which is a lot cheaper...

jszy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:22 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by jszy » Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:44 am

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/sh ... st31565992

I asked about this in ultimate-guitar's forum, a guy said it might be an issue of default audio device. Maybe the line inputs are used by something else in windows.

For example, when i use ableton live (with the 18i8 connected), i cant talk on skype....

jszy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:22 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by jszy » Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:30 pm

http://global.focusrite.com/downloads?p ... rlett+18i8

18i8 should work now with the latest version of mixcontrol

kukhar
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:57 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by kukhar » Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:07 pm

jszy wrote:http://global.focusrite.com/downloads?p ... rlett+18i8

18i8 should work now with the latest version of mixcontrol
It does not work. Did it work for you ?
I got a mac, erased the old mixcontrol, installed the new one... same thing bro... same thing.

kukhar
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:57 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by kukhar » Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:11 pm

kukhar wrote:
jszy wrote:http://global.focusrite.com/downloads?p ... rlett+18i8

18i8 should work now with the latest version of mixcontrol
It does not work. Did it work for you ?
I got a mac, erased the old mixcontrol, installed the new one... same thing bro... same thing.
Oh, I did the "save to hardware thing"... It works !!! Thanks for the info, man !!! : ))) I'll pass this along.

jszy
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:22 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by jszy » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:50 pm

yea, for some reason you will have to follow their weird instructions, reset to factory settings and save to hardware.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by eyeknow » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:51 am

But it's resolved now, right?

Honestly, reading through this was painful, but it's cool if there was a happy ending for you!

drummonk@outlook.com
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:15 pm

Re: Cannot record line input with Ableton Live Lite 8

Post by drummonk@outlook.com » Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:25 pm

Post is old af but maybe someone still has the same problem. I had the same issue with the Focusrite 2i4. Everything in the Preferences was set up as its supposed to be: Driver Type: ASIO, Audio Device: Focusrite USB 2.0 Audio Driver. Still there was no incoming mic-signal detected in Ableton, although there was a mic-signal coming into the Focusrite.

Problem solved by switching the Driver Type to MME/Direct. In the dropdown menu Audio-Input Device I selected "Line In (USB Scarlett2i4) Wave", for Audio-Output device I did select Line Out (USB Scarlett2i4)DX. Ableton reconized the incoming signal then but with the typical latency of the MME Driver. When I switched back to ADIO, it worked normal tho!

8O
:roll:
8)

Hope that helps 4 whoever that has the same issue!

Post Reply