Endless time warping??

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
dozeren

Endless time warping??

Post by dozeren » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:59 pm

Hi folks, I am new to Ableton. I have a question about warping. Is it any way of stretching an audio file infinite? That is beyond the 999 bpm. I want to stretch audio to make long drones and textures.

yur2die4

Re: Endless time warping??

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:18 am

Yes and no. Not really specifically with the warping. Maybe repeated warpings. There are other tools also. (Like Paulstretch)

Sounds more like you might want to check out the concept of 'granular synthesis'. A note in a midi clip with various combinations of off-time looping modulations can make for some out-there result.

My easy suggestion, if you should happen to have Sampler (comes with suite), try using the Mod envelope to automate loop start point :)

dozeren

Post by dozeren » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:05 am

Ok. I'll try Paulstretch then. I kam very familiar with granular synthesis, but wav stretching is something else.

Is there any other tools for stretching and manhandling wavs? Do Ableton operate with different algorithms like Logic and Melodyne?

dozeren

Post by dozeren » Tue Jul 02, 2013 5:35 pm

Paulstretch seems like what I am after. If it only could be used inside Ableton. That is the optimal solution so that my workflow wont be slowed down. Espessially since I would use this as a compositional tool. But ta for the tip , Will probobly use it :)

stoersignal

Post by stoersignal » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:01 pm

You can consolidate the Clip (in arrangement) , then you can Start again from your project Tempo up to 999bpm

siliconarc

Post by siliconarc » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:11 pm

dozeren wrote:Paulstretch seems like what I am after. If it only could be used inside Ableton...
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=154956

dozeren

Post by dozeren » Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:56 pm