All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 3:46 pm 

Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:18 pm
Posts: 441
Location: 5,660 miles from Ableton HQ
timothyallan wrote:
Yeah, like I said, it's doing 'something'! Can't find anything concrete except for general consumer Apple talk:

"The Process Buffer Range: setting determines how large a buffer Logic sets aside for its mixing engine. As with the I/O Buffer Size, smaller settings decrease latency, but increase CPU load. The default setting of Medium is usually fine, but if you experience frequent System Overloads, then try setting it to Large."

So there's a mixing buffer, and i/o buffer.

Well, if Apple won't give specifics... I'll find them out :) I have a neato utility which let's me see what my UAD plugins are running at as far as a buffer latency. If I use a 128 buffer in Logic, I can still see that the UAD plugs are running at 1088 samples. Changing the i/o buffer in logic has no effect on the plugins... however, changing the process buffer range does indeed change it. Setting it to large increases the buffer to a whopping 2112 samples.

So yes, Logic maintains a pseudo-hidden mixing buffer, but no, it doesn't change it on playback, it's always there.

Now we've all learned something today! :D


Yeah, I think this also explains why it takes a split second the first time when you have a softsynth part running and you play it with your keyboard after playing back a midi region on that track. I think this also explains why when you move an audio region away from the play head that it takes some time to actually take affect.

I think this is a really clever way of doing things, but like it's been said since Live's application is meant for performance too they didn't take that approach. Would be cool if you could enable something like this in preferences for the many people that use Live for production only rather than live performance.

Thanks for doing this test, now we know! Very helpful!

Ken

_________________
http://intuitionmusic.bandcamp.com
Ableton Certified Trainer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:18 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:32 pm
Posts: 1547
timothyallan wrote:
I edited my post above with the 1024 results... The Synth is the beta of Spire.


Edit: I'm off to check out the buffer switching rumor, Logic is def. doing something at lower buffer settings. However, if I change the buffer setting manually, Logic has to restart all of core audio, so I'm almost positive Logic wouldn't be switching buffer settings on playback... but it's doing something ;)



Does Logic maintain that percentage regardless of soft synth used? Would you do the test with something like Zebra or Massive? Spire is very inefficient and is not yet optimized as a beta so perhaps that is skewing the results?

It is a compelling argument for Logic if the 128 buffer can consistently give more than 3x instances. I'm curious whether that is consistent across computers too, or if fewer cores (I have a quad core) means less difference?

_________________
Musings - A Diva soundset


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:54 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am
Posts: 1420
timothyallan wrote:
Since I regularly get to the end of a project in Live and get sputtering audio because of CPU usage, this is the biggest reason I use Logic:

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid= ... 26&type=1#

I've done a CPU stress test between Logic X and Live 9.05 and posted the results.

We have been talking for ages. It's a traditional topic in Live's history.
https://www.google.co.jp/search?&q=site ... +multicore

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 5:21 pm 

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Posts: 6473
Location: Seattle, WA.
The retro synth by itself is kind of worth at least $100. This is sort of a no-brainer.

_________________
Ableton | Elektron | Access

Music


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:48 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Posts: 9625
Location: Seattle
timothyallan wrote:
So there's a mixing buffer, and i/o buffer.

From what I remember of a conversation online with Urs Heckman (apologies to Urs if I'm misquoting here!),
Live polls all plug ins and literally anything you can tweak on it's interface constantly, for 'live' performance glitch free experiences.
This costs CPU, a lot of CPU. Logic polls only record enabled tracks, all other tracks are probably given this 'mixing' buffer, which is much higher. Digital Performer does plug in Pre-rendering (sort of like 'auto-freeze') to accomplish much the same thing.

Come to think of it this might have been why Logic had the audio editing bug for a while? supposedly fixed in Logic X.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:49 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Posts: 9625
Location: Seattle
djadonis206 wrote:
The retro synth by itself is kind of worth at least $100. This is sort of a no-brainer.

I'm tempted for sure, but Mainstage 3 includes this synth, and I'm pretty happy with DP, although Logic X looks fantastic!
Didn't like the direction the interface was going in with Logic 8 and 9. :x


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 4:29 pm 

Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 9:22 am
Posts: 716
Location: West London
Well I bit the bullet and upgraded.

Have to say once I got over the initial gripes (mainly no update to sampler!) it's actually a pretty cool update.

Absolutely loving the ipad app :) The scale and chord keyboards are great for inputing and having the key commands on the ipad are also brilliant.

Given the price, it's a bloody steal compared to Live!!

_________________
MacBook Pro, Mavericks, Live 9.1, Logic Pro X, Komplete 9, Audio Damage, Fabfilter, Camel, Waves plugs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 4:58 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:09 pm
Posts: 202
Location: WHITE FORD BRONCO
i love logic.

_________________
F$&@ You KATO....OJ's favorite Mac shortcut is COMMAND-X (hahaha)


Last edited by OJ KARDASHIAN on Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:06 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:46 pm
Posts: 12948
Location: Seattle
Err.... no, not at all, there's a LOT more in this update.

_________________
InnerPortalStudio.com Professional Mastering - Mixdowns - Track Consulting. Click for details.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:23 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Posts: 9625
Location: Seattle
Quickly:
1. Melodyne style flex pitch.
2. multiple new instruments and FX.
3. iPad App.
4. new grouping behaviors.
5. new ease of rearranging plugins in tracks.
6. new MIDI FX.
7. new Score Editor features.
8. New sound libraries.
Plus probably dozens of smaller improvements.

It's a good upgrade. My only reason for not bothering yet is my comfort level with Digital Performer, and the fact that 1,3, 5, 6, 7 were already apart of DP for years.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:40 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:09 pm
Posts: 202
Location: WHITE FORD BRONCO
logic is affordable.

_________________
F$&@ You KATO....OJ's favorite Mac shortcut is COMMAND-X (hahaha)


Last edited by OJ KARDASHIAN on Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:49 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Posts: 9625
Location: Seattle
OJ KARDASHIAN wrote:
ableton live 9 will run on xp,vista,windows 7,windows 8, plus OSX.
nice range.

logic pro X ? only mountain lion? lame .
That ugly celebrity screen name gives you away as another useless mult.. :roll:

Christ? could your reasons for not liking a piece of software be any dumber?
Fruity Loops, Sonar, Samplitude, Sequoia, Synth Edit etc. etc. all run exclusively on Windows.
Give the pre-school whinging a break.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:52 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:09 pm
Posts: 202
Location: WHITE FORD BRONCO
logic is god.

_________________
F$&@ You KATO....OJ's favorite Mac shortcut is COMMAND-X (hahaha)


Last edited by OJ KARDASHIAN on Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:54 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:09 pm
Posts: 202
Location: WHITE FORD BRONCO
:D

_________________
F$&@ You KATO....OJ's favorite Mac shortcut is COMMAND-X (hahaha)


Last edited by OJ KARDASHIAN on Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Logic Pro X is out.
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 6:55 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:09 pm
Posts: 202
Location: WHITE FORD BRONCO
logic is fun.

_________________
F$&@ You KATO....OJ's favorite Mac shortcut is COMMAND-X (hahaha)


Last edited by OJ KARDASHIAN on Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 97 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group