Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by Theo Void » Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:37 pm

ya...............WTF?

All my packs are either empty or they contain a "lessons" folder that is empty.

Hmmmmmm, wonder what I should do now.?

rockrep
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:53 pm

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by rockrep » Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:42 pm

Theo Void wrote: All my packs are either empty
Same happened to me. I bit the bullet and re-installed the packs from the CD. I would've been more irritated if I had to re-download all the packs from the web. Very interested if there is a better soln.

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by Theo Void » Fri Jul 19, 2013 6:16 pm

Well, I guess I'll be downloading then. WOW, that sucks!!

joeyfivecents
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by joeyfivecents » Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:17 pm

Did you contact Ableton? That is total b*llsh*t. How could a software be that f'ed up? That is crazy. Why can't anything JUST WORK? I'm not going to download now. Wonder what it does to your user settings(presets,etc.)? They really need to get it together. Absurd.
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Fender Jaguar, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

Theo Void
Posts: 1021
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by Theo Void » Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:36 pm

joeyfivecents wrote:Did you contact Ableton? That is total b*llsh*t. How could a software be that f'ed up? That is crazy. Why can't anything JUST WORK? I'm not going to download now. Wonder what it does to your user settings(presets,etc.)? They really need to get it together. Absurd.
Ya this is some bullshit.

I've been using Live for a LoOOOong time and I've never had the issues that I'm having w/ 9.

At first it was all good but things are falling apart.

joeyfivecents
Posts: 544
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by joeyfivecents » Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:29 pm

I'm about to open up Logic Pro X and see if that's any better....
iMac, MacBook Pro, Live Suite, Reason, Logic Pro, Melodyne, FL Studio, iConnect Audio4+, Little Martin, ukelele, Fender Jaguar, pedalboard, amps, mics .
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel

twistedkeys
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:38 pm

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by twistedkeys » Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:30 am

Theo Void wrote:ya...............WTF?
All my packs are either empty or they contain a "lessons" folder that is empty.
Hmmmmmm, wonder what I should do now.?
This happened to me too and the way I fixed it is:

- Go to Preferences and change the 'Installation Folder for Packs' to something else (I created a new folder and pointed it there)
- When it prompts to move the packs, say 'No'
- Close Live and reopen
- Go back to Preferences and change 'Installation Folder for Packs' to where you have it before
- You may need to close and reopen live

Hope this helps!

ttilberg
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by ttilberg » Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:08 am

I just wanted to post that I did not experience that on my update. I'm using OSX Lion on a 2011 MBP, auto updated from 9.0.4 to 9.0.5

What are you guys running, and was it auto update or manual update?

Let's help get information out there.
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5

artpunk
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Location: The Antipodes
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by artpunk » Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:23 am

15" MBP 2012 edition here - all my packs are still in the same place too, haven't checked my older iMac yet, but Insuspect it will be the same. What's the bet this is an operating system issue?

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records

Zenek
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:29 am

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by Zenek » Sat Jul 20, 2013 7:25 am

Yes, here OSX 10.8.4 running fine and without issues...

Windows people c'mon, use professional, stable, friendly (and why not, good looking) software...

Im not trolling, i mean it, i think microsoft fu**s everything that run in their system...

I was a windows user, and i lost A LOT of time and money.

For me it's funny when people say something like: Apple is so expensive!

I remember and make numbers, and with Windows was money for anti-virus, money for formatting, money for a decent and compatible audio interface, money for a silent CPU or Laptop, money and/or for reinstalling OS, and TOO MUCH time trying to set the correct audio driver, the right latency, pfffff what a waste of time.

At the end who spend more money???

And i know that are many people doing music without an issues under Windows environment, and all i got to say is, you're lucky.

But well, just my point of view...

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by Sibanger » Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:55 am

Zenek wrote:Yes, here OSX 10.8.4 running fine and without issues...

Windows people c'mon, use professional, stable, friendly (and why not, good looking) software...

Im not trolling, i mean it, i think microsoft fu**s everything that run in their system...

I was a windows user, and i lost A LOT of time and money.

For me it's funny when people say something like: Apple is so expensive!

I remember and make numbers, and with Windows was money for anti-virus, money for formatting, money for a decent and compatible audio interface, money for a silent CPU or Laptop, money and/or for reinstalling OS, and TOO MUCH time trying to set the correct audio driver, the right latency, pfffff what a waste of time.

At the end who spend more money???

And i know that are many people doing music without an issues under Windows environment, and all i got to say is, you're lucky.

But well, just my point of view...
This shouldn't be a Mac Vs PC issue. Shit like this should just work. Come on Abes, lift your game.

Just about to load 9.0.5 myself...on PC. I'll let you know if I have similar problems.

BoddAH
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by BoddAH » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:00 am

twistedkeys wrote:
Theo Void wrote:ya...............WTF?
All my packs are either empty or they contain a "lessons" folder that is empty.
Hmmmmmm, wonder what I should do now.?
This happened to me too and the way I fixed it is:

- Go to Preferences and change the 'Installation Folder for Packs' to something else (I created a new folder and pointed it there)
- When it prompts to move the packs, say 'No'
- Close Live and reopen
- Go back to Preferences and change 'Installation Folder for Packs' to where you have it before
- You may need to close and reopen live

Hope this helps!
I'm using OX X 10.8.4 and the same thing happened to me although this seemed to help. :)

I'm getting really tired of this bullshit as well. I don't know what's going on at Ableton HQ, maybe some key programmers got fired, maybe they just don't give a f**k anymore but the last few updates were an absolute disaster.

It is one thing to sell overpriced updates and generally ignore professional user requests (like Retina Display support), but selling hugely expensive professional software that isn't stable to save its life and doesn't even work is downright criminal. Thankfully the free market knows how to take care of this kind of situation if it continues for too long...

I almost thought they got their shit together after early Live 8 but I guess I was dead wrong. I am THIS close to switching to Logic Pro X. Not without selling my Live license of course.

re:dream
Posts: 4554
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by re:dream » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:17 am

It's happened to me a couple of times.

I find just restarting Live / my computer sorts it.

Hermanus
Posts: 1648
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by Hermanus » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:36 am

I've installed the whole ableton 9 library on an external HDD.

No problem whith the live 9.0.5 installation, both 32 and 64 bits versions.

Sibanger
Posts: 2225
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Contact:

Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......

Post by Sibanger » Sat Jul 20, 2013 11:18 am

The Finn wrote:It's happened to me a couple of times.

I find just restarting Live / my computer sorts it.
Stop being so calm & reasonable. :lol:

9.0.5 instal went fine. On PC.

Post Reply