All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:00 pm 

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:36 pm
Posts: 115
Location: germany, nrw
Had the same Problem. Everything was installed on a seperate HD
Now back to 9.03

_________________
Setup:
Ableton L9, Push, MAX6, KPA, Guitars

soundcloud, blog, twitter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:17 pm 

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Posts: 575
Yeah, let's not make this a platform war. I use both platforms, and they are both just fine. There's no need to call anybody's computer ugly here.


To you guys who are having issues where the packs disappear -- Do you have rather large libraries? Do you use external disks? There's gotta be something different about our installations, and if we can pin it down, Ableton will likely have an easier time fixing it.

The reason I ask about 'large libraries' -- Maybe it's similar to how when you add files into your places folders, it sometimes takes a while for anything to show up -- Or if you install a new pack, sometimes nothing is there for a while.

Then a few folks have mentioned that changing prefs to point away and back fixes it -- I wonder if it's an indexing issue, perhaps related to either the size or location of all or parts of your library??? Now that we've established we are seeing this on both OSX and Win, what else can we rule out?

My library is incredibly small relative to most other's out there (I think currently I have about 15 packs installed, and only 3 or 4 sample CDs worth of content loaded into my personal locations). I've not experienced the agony others have talked about regarding the indexing process --- to those who had their packs disappear -- did you?

_________________
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:26 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Posts: 348
Location: Brussels, Belgium
ttilberg wrote:
Yeah, let's not make this a platform war. I use both platforms, and they are both just fine. There's no need to call anybody's computer ugly here.


To you guys who are having issues where the packs disappear -- Do you have rather large libraries? Do you use external disks? There's gotta be something different about our installations, and if we can pin it down, Ableton will likely have an easier time fixing it.

The reason I ask about 'large libraries' -- Maybe it's similar to how when you add files into your places folders, it sometimes takes a while for anything to show up -- Or if you install a new pack, sometimes nothing is there for a while.

Then a few folks have mentioned that changing prefs to point away and back fixes it -- I wonder if it's an indexing issue, perhaps related to either the size or location of all or parts of your library??? Now that we've established we are seeing this on both OSX and Win, what else can we rule out?

My library is incredibly small relative to most other's out there (I think currently I have about 15 packs installed, and only 3 or 4 sample CDs worth of content loaded into my personal locations). I've not experienced the agony others have talked about regarding the indexing process --- to those who had their packs disappear -- did you?


I have a pretty small library actually (20 GB) and it's only a couple official Ableton Live Packs. Maybe it happened because I used a software program to uninstall the old version of Live (CCleaner) and haven't just deleted the icons in Applications.

_________________
SoundCloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:47 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
I'll be damned. AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fuck, this has happened over and over. They are there in beta 9.05

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:51 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
I'm really pissed about this. This is ridiculous. Loading the packs back in takes FOREVER!

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:53 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
Ok, "KJ sawka mad beats" is there. WHY. Why is that one there and not the others?

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:15 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 2689
Location: beneath mouse mountain
Have you contacted support?

_________________
workshop
soundcloud
mixes


live 9.1.2, OS mavericks, push, stray's script, MPD32/LD8, stc, access virus kc, but no elektron octatrack


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:51 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
It's happened every full release, NEVER in the betas :x

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:13 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Posts: 348
Location: Brussels, Belgium
eyeknow wrote:
It's happened every full release, NEVER in the betas :x


Maybe somebody at Ableton, a programmer in charge of checking the release versions, is secretly working for Bitwig.

Image

_________________
SoundCloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:16 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
lolzes, you guys are brutal.

Anyways, support ticket made, we'll see how it goes.

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 6:40 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

I've spent all day with this and don't even have all of them installed

:roll: :roll: :roll:

What a hassle.

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2013 10:44 pm 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
The explanation they gave me so far was that the beta has different preferences (which of course I know) and to set the preferences file/folder

Quote:
Please try opening Live 9.0.5, and try pointing Live to the Live Packs directory from Preferences-->File/Folder.


:?:

Is this the cache? Because I don't see anything that would allow for this.

Also they have not yet explained why every "regular" update has killed the packs every time. I mean, I made it clear this has happened and I have not changed the packs in any of live 9's regular updates.

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:57 am 

Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 5:37 pm
Posts: 319
mayn I am scart now... Dont wanna update again.. 8O dblya tee eff?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:53 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Posts: 941
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Well. My packs magically re-appeared! I literally did nothing and they're back now. I can't explain it. Before it was just a lessons folder and another empty folder in each pack but now they are normal again.

:?:

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/theovoid


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:34 am 

Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am
Posts: 4056
IT'S VOODOO! The abe's are messing with us!!!!!!!!!!!

:lol:

_________________
Win7x64/Live Suite 9.1x64/PUSH/SSD for libraries and OS/ Impluse 49/automap/launchpad s
i74770/ Focusrite saffire 14/ 16GB ram/ lot's of vst goodies
48k/128 buffer


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group