All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:37 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Posts: 941
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
ya...............WTF?

All my packs are either empty or they contain a "lessons" folder that is empty.

Hmmmmmm, wonder what I should do now.?

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/theovoid


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 5:42 pm 

Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:53 pm
Posts: 3
Theo Void wrote:
All my packs are either empty


Same happened to me. I bit the bullet and re-installed the packs from the CD. I would've been more irritated if I had to re-download all the packs from the web. Very interested if there is a better soln.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 6:16 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Posts: 941
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Well, I guess I'll be downloading then. WOW, that sucks!!

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/theovoid


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:17 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Posts: 415
Location: Augusta, GA USA
Did you contact Ableton? That is total b*llsh*t. How could a software be that f'ed up? That is crazy. Why can't anything JUST WORK? I'm not going to download now. Wonder what it does to your user settings(presets,etc.)? They really need to get it together. Absurd.

_________________
MacBook Pro, Push, Sub Phatty, Minitaur, OP-1, microKorg, KP3,guitars, bass, pedals, harmonicas, Ebow, slide, etc.
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:36 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:00 am
Posts: 941
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
joeyfivecents wrote:
Did you contact Ableton? That is total b*llsh*t. How could a software be that f'ed up? That is crazy. Why can't anything JUST WORK? I'm not going to download now. Wonder what it does to your user settings(presets,etc.)? They really need to get it together. Absurd.


Ya this is some bullshit.

I've been using Live for a LoOOOong time and I've never had the issues that I'm having w/ 9.

At first it was all good but things are falling apart.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/theovoid


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 8:29 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2004 3:18 am
Posts: 415
Location: Augusta, GA USA
I'm about to open up Logic Pro X and see if that's any better....

_________________
MacBook Pro, Push, Sub Phatty, Minitaur, OP-1, microKorg, KP3,guitars, bass, pedals, harmonicas, Ebow, slide, etc.
http://www.soundcloud.com/gradynickel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 4:30 am 

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 1:38 pm
Posts: 13
Theo Void wrote:
ya...............WTF?
All my packs are either empty or they contain a "lessons" folder that is empty.
Hmmmmmm, wonder what I should do now.?


This happened to me too and the way I fixed it is:

- Go to Preferences and change the 'Installation Folder for Packs' to something else (I created a new folder and pointed it there)
- When it prompts to move the packs, say 'No'
- Close Live and reopen
- Go back to Preferences and change 'Installation Folder for Packs' to where you have it before
- You may need to close and reopen live

Hope this helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:08 am 

Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 4:55 pm
Posts: 575
I just wanted to post that I did not experience that on my update. I'm using OSX Lion on a 2011 MBP, auto updated from 9.0.4 to 9.0.5

What are you guys running, and was it auto update or manual update?

Let's help get information out there.

_________________
Tim Tilberg - Duluth, MN | SoundCloud - Arsenal
2011 13" MBP w/8GB ram | Live 9 Suite, Reason 6.5, FXPansion DCAM/Etch/Maul, Izotope Ozone 5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:23 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 1:51 am
Posts: 537
Location: The Antipodes
15" MBP 2012 edition here - all my packs are still in the same place too, haven't checked my older iMac yet, but Insuspect it will be the same. What's the bet this is an operating system issue?

_________________

“... it was just to make an average listener go: ‘What the fuck is this?’ That’s a real inspiration for me and something that I will explore more on upcoming recordings.”
- Wally De Backer (Gotye) quoting Ween's intention behind making records


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 7:25 am 

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 5:29 am
Posts: 40
Yes, here OSX 10.8.4 running fine and without issues...

Windows people c'mon, use professional, stable, friendly (and why not, good looking) software...

Im not trolling, i mean it, i think microsoft fu**s everything that run in their system...

I was a windows user, and i lost A LOT of time and money.

For me it's funny when people say something like: Apple is so expensive!

I remember and make numbers, and with Windows was money for anti-virus, money for formatting, money for a decent and compatible audio interface, money for a silent CPU or Laptop, money and/or for reinstalling OS, and TOO MUCH time trying to set the correct audio driver, the right latency, pfffff what a waste of time.

At the end who spend more money???

And i know that are many people doing music without an issues under Windows environment, and all i got to say is, you're lucky.

But well, just my point of view...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:55 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Posts: 2189
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Zenek wrote:
Yes, here OSX 10.8.4 running fine and without issues...

Windows people c'mon, use professional, stable, friendly (and why not, good looking) software...

Im not trolling, i mean it, i think microsoft fu**s everything that run in their system...

I was a windows user, and i lost A LOT of time and money.

For me it's funny when people say something like: Apple is so expensive!

I remember and make numbers, and with Windows was money for anti-virus, money for formatting, money for a decent and compatible audio interface, money for a silent CPU or Laptop, money and/or for reinstalling OS, and TOO MUCH time trying to set the correct audio driver, the right latency, pfffff what a waste of time.

At the end who spend more money???

And i know that are many people doing music without an issues under Windows environment, and all i got to say is, you're lucky.

But well, just my point of view...


This shouldn't be a Mac Vs PC issue. Shit like this should just work. Come on Abes, lift your game.

Just about to load 9.0.5 myself...on PC. I'll let you know if I have similar problems.

_________________
Speciman²
Speciman² on Soundcloud
Speciman² on FaceBook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:00 am 

Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Posts: 348
Location: Brussels, Belgium
twistedkeys wrote:
Theo Void wrote:
ya...............WTF?
All my packs are either empty or they contain a "lessons" folder that is empty.
Hmmmmmm, wonder what I should do now.?


This happened to me too and the way I fixed it is:

- Go to Preferences and change the 'Installation Folder for Packs' to something else (I created a new folder and pointed it there)
- When it prompts to move the packs, say 'No'
- Close Live and reopen
- Go back to Preferences and change 'Installation Folder for Packs' to where you have it before
- You may need to close and reopen live

Hope this helps!


I'm using OX X 10.8.4 and the same thing happened to me although this seemed to help. :)

I'm getting really tired of this bullshit as well. I don't know what's going on at Ableton HQ, maybe some key programmers got fired, maybe they just don't give a f**k anymore but the last few updates were an absolute disaster.

It is one thing to sell overpriced updates and generally ignore professional user requests (like Retina Display support), but selling hugely expensive professional software that isn't stable to save its life and doesn't even work is downright criminal. Thankfully the free market knows how to take care of this kind of situation if it continues for too long...

I almost thought they got their shit together after early Live 8 but I guess I was dead wrong. I am THIS close to switching to Logic Pro X. Not without selling my Live license of course.

_________________
SoundCloud


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:17 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 2697
Location: beneath mouse mountain
It's happened to me a couple of times.

I find just restarting Live / my computer sorts it.

_________________
workshop
soundcloud
mixes


live 9.1.2, OS mavericks, push, stray's script, MPD32/LD8, stc, access virus kc, but no elektron octatrack


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:36 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:47 pm
Posts: 1546
Location: Belgium
I've installed the whole ableton 9 library on an external HDD.

No problem whith the live 9.0.5 installation, both 32 and 64 bits versions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated to 9.0.5 and now my packs are empty.......
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 11:18 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:44 am
Posts: 2189
Location: Melbourne/Australia
The Finn wrote:
It's happened to me a couple of times.

I find just restarting Live / my computer sorts it.


Stop being so calm & reasonable. :lol:

9.0.5 instal went fine. On PC.

_________________
Speciman²
Speciman² on Soundcloud
Speciman² on FaceBook


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group