Can I get rid of Live 8?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Punky921
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:15 pm

Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by Punky921 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:04 pm

Hey guys,

So I've been doing most of my recent work in Live 9, but I've still got Live 8 and it's library taking up space on my HD. Can I just uninstall Live 8 and delete the library? Or is that a terrible, terrible idea? I still sometimes access old recordings I did in 8, just to re-extract the audio, and that's it. Will deleting Live 8 and its library screw up these old recordings?

Punky921
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:15 pm

Re: Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by Punky921 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 2:31 pm

Doesn't the Live 9 core library have all the basic compressors, EQs, etc.?

Punky921
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:15 pm

Re: Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by Punky921 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 3:07 pm

But deleting the Live 8 library isn't going to break my current, new Live 9 projects though, is it?

BoddAH
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by BoddAH » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:29 pm

Punky921 wrote:But deleting the Live 8 library isn't going to break my current, new Live 9 projects though, is it?
It will if any of those projects used content from the Live 8 library (very likely). Not sure about presets but certainly samples.

Live 9 is designed and intended to work with the Live 8 Library. It's strange but consider it the "factory" library.

ChiefNugget
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:55 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by ChiefNugget » Tue Jul 23, 2013 5:32 pm

I timed my Live 9 upgrade with a move to a new computer, so my situation is a bit different. I still had plenty of Live 8 sets to migrate. For the most part, I've had no trouble pulling up presets for Live 8 projects when opening in Live 9, even for the sample heavy presets from Session Drums and EIC. You may be able to move the Live 8 Library to an external HDD for archival purposes and install only the elements of the Live Library you use from the packs for Live 9. You might have some missing sample errors to deal with initially, but it should track them down in the Live 9 library. Everything from Live 8 Library seems to be in Live 9 Suite "Library" for me, it's just organized/delivered differently than it was in Live 8.

I just realized that you may have your own sample-based presets and customized device presets stored in the Live 8 Library depending on how you organized things. I had kept a separate Live 8 project that contained all my personal presets and my Live 8 Library was just the factory Library. That's essentially the Live 9 organization philosophy, so it made the transition easy.
I need a baby sit my boys and work the day job plug-in.

kitekrazy
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 7:16 pm

Re: Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by kitekrazy » Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:03 pm

Can you delete Live 8 without removing it's library? Is there an options for that?

Punky921
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 6:15 pm

Re: Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by Punky921 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 7:17 pm

BoddAH wrote:
Punky921 wrote:But deleting the Live 8 library isn't going to break my current, new Live 9 projects though, is it?
It will if any of those projects used content from the Live 8 library (very likely). Not sure about presets but certainly samples.

Live 9 is designed and intended to work with the Live 8 Library. It's strange but consider it the "factory" library.
Seriously? That is freaking WEIRD.

ark
Posts: 1349
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: Can I get rid of Live 8?

Post by ark » Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:07 pm

Uninstalling the Live 8 program does not delete the Live 8 library-they're separate.

Post Reply