All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:43 pm

Um. This has got to be something stupid, probably me...

Bass is tuned just fine. It checks against both tuners and my other basses hanging on the wall.

Same note on either keyboard produces a note that is one half step flat.

eg a B on my bass must be played as C on the synth, etc...

It's not the keyboard: the note played is the same note indicated. ie a C that sounds like a B is recorded as a midi C note.

This occurred out of the blue -- no idea what the hell just happened.
Search on the internet suggests no global transpose functionality that I might've accidentally nudged.

I rebooted, made a freshie project, freshie track, same issue.

Can somebody set me straight on this?

Thanks in advance.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by 3dot... » Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:48 pm

are you sure the clip records a C ?
no 'pitch' plugins or m4l plugins?
which version of Live?
are you working with any specific synths?
do the synths have any detuning turned on?
Image

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:57 pm

3dot... wrote:are you sure the clip records a C ?
no 'pitch' plugins or m4l plugins?
which version of Live?
are you working with any specific synths?
do the synths have any detuning turned on?
Hey 3dot,

*Yeah, for a "C" played, the clip records a "C" in terms of the midi note event itself.

*No additional plugins -- Just a bare synth grabbed at random each time I've tested.

*I'm using 9.0.5 Suite.

*First noticed when playing with Zebralette from u-he, then a cello from the Live Orchestral pack, then a couple of others from the Live Instruments folder.

*I've not made any adjustments to parameters. Just freshly created and then ploink on keyboard...

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:09 pm

Old projects work fine, btw. Note played is expected pitch.

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by 3dot... » Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:20 pm

sounds like a major bug... which os btw?
support@ableton.com is your best bet
Image

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:42 pm

3dot... wrote:sounds like a major bug... which os btw?
support@ableton.com is your best bet
os x 10.8.4

From old project (again, that works fine): File -> New Live Set, and the problem returns.

This is goofy.

I'm gonna go for a walk.

I'll give support a shot once I've convinced myself I'm not crazy. Thanks, 3dot!

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:26 pm

In an old project, inserting a new midi track and adding a snyth to it produces the 1/2 step flat problem, while an existing midi track/synth plays correctly.

I was hoping I'm crazy.

I'll settle for befuddled.

Writing support. I'll update ya...

OJ KARDASHIAN
Posts: 202
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:09 pm
Location: WHITE FORD BRONCO

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by OJ KARDASHIAN » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:47 pm

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????= 440??????????????????????
F$&@ You KATO....OJ's favorite Mac shortcut is COMMAND-X (hahaha)

3dot...
Posts: 9996
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:10 pm

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by 3dot... » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:49 pm

masterblasterofdisaster wrote:In an old project, inserting a new midi track and adding a snyth to it produces the 1/2 step flat problem, while an existing midi track/synth plays correctly.

I was hoping I'm crazy.

I'll settle for befuddled.

Writing support. I'll update ya...
I think I got it...PITCH BEND WHEEL MIGHT BE OFF
Image

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Sun Aug 04, 2013 10:25 pm

3dot... wrote:
masterblasterofdisaster wrote:In an old project, inserting a new midi track and adding a snyth to it produces the 1/2 step flat problem, while an existing midi track/synth plays correctly.

I was hoping I'm crazy.

I'll settle for befuddled.

Writing support. I'll update ya...
I think I got it...PITCH BEND WHEEL MIGHT BE OFF

I failed to mention I at first thought to blame the cat sitting on the pitch wheel.
Nope. Pitch wheel is unwanked, in neutral position.
Moving it produces expected result. Also, note synth from old project performs as expected.

Thanks though, man. I really appreciate the assistance with the diagnostic!

So, the only solution I've found thus far is to browse info on Logic Pro -- this seems to cause Live to function properly.

Yeah, pretty random. No idea, here. Anyway, seems OK for the time being.

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Mon Aug 05, 2013 12:27 am

3dot...

I'm gonna go with 'poop in the pitch wheel' per your last suggestion.

I never use it, and it was actually pretty glitchy upon closer inspection.
Moving it around seems to have busted some gunk loose.

sparky12
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:43 pm

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by sparky12 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 1:34 am

I've had this issue with 8 and 9.

Novation X station - the pitch wheel (or stick) gets screwed up and won't go neutral. It made everything off pitch. I had to edit the template with the X-station editor and disable it. That fixed it.

I believe I also had something similar where I had to quit Live, unplug USB devices and reboot. This was Live, not a hardware device.

masterblasterofdisaster
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 3:43 am
Location: Vancouver BC

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by masterblasterofdisaster » Mon Aug 05, 2013 5:33 am

Yes, sounds like probably the same thing happened here.

Thanks, Sparky12.

tech44
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by tech44 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:16 am

My Novation Compact SL 49 had a pitchwheel problem and would make the pitch change randomly also. Thought I was losing my mind as well until I figured it out :mrgreen: Novation sent me a new pitch and works fine now.
-----
Audiobombs.com: Free ableton racks, soundsets, touchosc templates and more.

Jed
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: All synths a half step flat (what the ?)

Post by Jed » Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:50 am

I ripped the wires out of my old Ozone pitchwheel for exactly the same reason lol

Post Reply