Filter MIDI notes

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
mr lovely
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:01 pm
Location: S.London
Contact:

Filter MIDI notes

Post by mr lovely » Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:46 pm

Hi,

I'm looking for a way to filter out midi notes so that I can use a single midi drum clip (with impulse) and then using my controller cut various sounds (e.g. cymbals, hi-hat, or kicks)

The obvious way to do this would be to mute individual sounds in impulse, but a) I can't seem to map to mute, and b) I've got multiple devices and don't want to have to map to each of them. I'd like the first item in my rack to give me a way of filtering out certain midi notes at source, before they hit my devices.

Is there a way to do this without using Max?

thanks,
Mark.

ChiefNugget
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:55 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Filter MIDI notes

Post by ChiefNugget » Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:41 am

either midi note range on the instrument rack (hit Ctrl-G to rack up impulse) or with the pitch midi effect. pitch allows you to set the range of incoming notes that it affects. it filters out or blocks all notes not in the specified range. i used midi racks with the pitch effect to create a rack that allowed me to map notes coming off a yamaha dd-55 drum pad set to new notes for each pad.
I need a baby sit my boys and work the day job plug-in.

yur2die4
Posts: 6501
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Filter MIDI notes

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Aug 06, 2013 12:47 am

Create a MIDI Rack

Add one chain, press the Key button and pull the size of it down to one piano note. Drag it to the appropriate note.

Copy the Chain seven times.

Drag each sliver to the appropriate key.

Right click the Mute of each chain and assign them each to Macro 1-8.

Lastly, set the macro ranges so that at Zero they leave it unmuted, and anything from 1-127 will mute it. Then it will be easy to know where in the knob rotation it mutes/unmutes.

mr lovely
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:01 pm
Location: S.London
Contact:

Re: Filter MIDI notes

Post by mr lovely » Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:40 am

Thanks for your help guys, I'll check this out as soon as I get a chance (hopefully tomorrow eve) and give you a shout if I have any questions.

thanks again,
Mark.

mr lovely
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 11:01 pm
Location: S.London
Contact:

Re: Filter MIDI notes

Post by mr lovely » Wed Aug 07, 2013 8:52 pm

Brilliant. I've learned a lot from playing around with your suggestions

I didn't realise Pitch could act as a filter, although I couldn't figure out how to have multiple filters at the same time, so I settled on using the key range on midi chains - exactly what I wanted.

thanks again for taking the time to help.

Mark.

yur2die4
Posts: 6501
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Filter MIDI notes

Post by yur2die4 » Wed Aug 07, 2013 9:31 pm

Okay. I believe I just had a realization.

I assume you attempted to map the mute buttons from the sample slots. I think when you choose each sample, the mappable mute button is on the bottom right. Next to global pitch. If that is the case, it could streamline your setup :).

Either way. You're making me want to get back into using Impulse haha

outsidesys
Posts: 400
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:26 am

Re: Filter MIDI notes

Post by outsidesys » Fri Aug 09, 2013 1:45 am

The Mute/Solo buttons in Impulse are not MIDI mappable, and they can't be mapped to macro knobs either.

It's not ideal, but as a workaround, create an Instrument rack with multiple Impulse chains, and put a sample in the slot that maps to the chain. Chain 1 = Impulse Slot 1, Chain 2 = Impulse Slot 2, etc.

Then map the chain's mute/solo buttons.

Post Reply