32bit vs 64 bit

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by ian_halsall » Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:42 pm

I switched to 64 bit when Live 9 came along.

It's great not having to worry about memory and now I don't give it a second thought - in practice the 32 bit version of live ran out of steam well before 4 gig.

More like 2 gig and it was struggling.

64 bit every time - why not? all my plugs are 64 bits anyway.

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by Timbeaux » Thu Aug 08, 2013 2:51 pm

ian_halsall wrote:I switched to 64 bit when Live 9 came along.

64 bit every time - why not? all my plugs are 64 bits anyway.
exactly, same here.

AvaDub
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:10 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by AvaDub » Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:13 am

Here's an idea. If necessary for larger sample libraries & vsts run multiple instances of Ableton 32-bit through rewire as pro tools rewire instruments.

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by Timbeaux » Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:45 am

i thought rewire isnt working right now?

3DW
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by 3DW » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:25 pm

I bought a new i7 quad pc and wanted to use 64 bit live but was also concerned with the 32 bit plugin issue.
I went for jbridge and manged to get all my 32 bit plugins working perfectly. If it never worked out i would have re installed 32 bit Live but no need to in the end.

jwjohnwright
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:20 pm

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by jwjohnwright » Thu Jan 15, 2015 2:00 am

I had been running 32bit on an older system until I got a new laptop for Christmas. I had nothing but trouble with the 64bit version. I do live looping in the project I'm in now, and I could only get 4 midi clips running, (with some automation, effects, etc), before crashing. The playback would just stop. I could open the "File" panel,or open "Preferences", but the playback and midi input stopped. I decided to run the 32bit version on my old laptop again, and I got 8 loops with all the extras running, no problem. Didn't crash once. Not saying there aren't other factors that play into it, but that was my experience.

P.S. All 9.1.7

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by Stromkraft » Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:53 am

Moosebear wrote:Perhaps that's the main reason why Ableton's instructions state that the 32-bit version is the preferred one for most users.

They do not anymore.
"Which version does Ableton recommend?

We recommend using the 64-bit version of Live on machines with a 64-bit operating system and more than 4GB installed memory. On machines with 4GB memory or less, or on machines with a 32-bit operating system we recommend using the 32-bit version of Live."
64-bit - Myths and Facts
Last edited by Stromkraft on Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Make some music!

fishmonkey
Posts: 4234
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by fishmonkey » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:01 am

Stromkraft wrote:
Moosebear wrote:Perhaps that's the main reason why Ableton's instructions state that the 32-bit version is the preferred one for most users.

They do not. Update your knowledge and stop spreading dated assumptions.
"Which version does Ableton recommend?

We recommend using the 64-bit version of Live on machines with a 64-bit operating system and more than 4GB installed memory. On machines with 4GB memory or less, or on machines with a 32-bit operating system we recommend using the 32-bit version of Live."
64-bit - Myths and Facts
wtf? that post from Moosebear was from 2013. Ableton must of only very recently changed their recommendation about 64 bit Live...
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by Stromkraft » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:02 am

My personal experience with the 9.0.x versions of Live was that these had latency issues that the 64bit version did not have. Therefore I switched a long time ago. The 9.1 versions seems to about the same though.
I had no issues really to find new candidates replacing older 32bit only VSTs, these not being further developed. I see that at least some third party developers are stopping or will stop releasing 32bit versions of their plug-ins.

While that may not apply for Live itself, it should also be noted that 64bit apps can execute twice as much code in one CPU cycle due to access to larger memory registers within the CPU. Even if this is generally true I haven't tested performance in this way, so this may not apply directly to any Live sessions. I suppose some actual music software developers could tell more about this.

64bit is now old news. The 32bit era is likely to be on the last page. You can stay on 32bit as long as you want, but that decision has consequences you need to face.
Last edited by Stromkraft on Sat Jan 24, 2015 8:34 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by Stromkraft » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:05 am

fishmonkey wrote:
wtf? that post from Moosebear was from 2013. Ableton must of only very recently changed their recommendation about 64 bit Live...
Thank for pointing that out, Fishmonkey. Updated my response. I haven't had my coffee yet. They updated it the summer of 2014, but also the older version was not a recommendation for 32bit per se. 64bit Live has been making strides since 2013. Ableton are confident 64bit.
Make some music!

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by eyeknow » Thu Jan 15, 2015 7:55 am

Stromkraft wrote:
fishmonkey wrote:
wtf? that post from Moosebear was from 2013. Ableton must of only very recently changed their recommendation about 64 bit Live...
Thank for pointing that out, Fishmonkey. Updated my response. I haven't had my coffee yet. They updated it the summer of 2014, but also the older version was not a recommendation for 32bit per se. 64bit Live has been making strides since 2013. Ableton are confident 64bit.
Christ, I'm on my billionth shot of tequila! Where you at?

mikb
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 9:53 pm

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by mikb » Thu Jan 15, 2015 9:29 am

eyeknow wrote: Christ, I'm on my billionth shot of tequila! Where you at?
Currently it's 10.29 am in Northern Europe and I'm at the doctor's office waiting and longing for my second cup.
Basic gear info: Macbook Pro with macOS 10.12, Ableton Live Suite version 9 (64bit) with Ozone, Push and APC20 as controllers.

fishmonkey
Posts: 4234
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by fishmonkey » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:17 am

Stromkraft wrote: While that may not apply for Live itself, it should also be noted that 64bit apps can execute twice as much code in one CPU cycle due access to larger memory registers within the CPU. Even if this is generally true I haven't tested performance in this way, so this may not apply directly to any Live sessions. I suppose some developers can tell more about this.
it's actually much more complicated than that. depending on what computations are being done, and how the code is written, 64 bit can actually be slower and more wasteful. some things get a significant performance boost. and many things are more or less the same...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/64-bit_computing
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

BoddAH
Posts: 638
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by BoddAH » Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:21 am


ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: 32bit vs 64 bit

Post by ian_halsall » Sat Jan 24, 2015 1:09 pm

64 bit every time. Unless you have a plug which is 32 bit only.
Even then there are bridges to allow the pugs
To work with 64 bit live.

The end extra ram Iive gives you so much more
Flexibility.

You don't need to worry so much about deleting tracks to free memory.

Just keep them in your project in case you need them later on.

Highly recommend 64 bit.

Post Reply