Anyone use Bidule or Energy XT?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
xpl2003
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:01 pm

Anyone use Bidule or Energy XT?

Post by xpl2003 » Sat May 07, 2005 11:24 pm

Hi all

ANyone use these modular things?

Just tried both of them and they seem interesting. I havent even dug the surface but Energy XT has a nice appregiator!

Any tips on this software or any other similar products available?

Thanks

Former Pharaoh
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:42 pm
Location: Inside Britney's vag

Post by Former Pharaoh » Sun May 08, 2005 3:41 am

I've used both. There is something about Bidule that is more appealing to me, especially in conjunction with Chainer.
The only feature i feel it lacks is realtime sequencing which XT has.
One really great thing about these types of apps is their modular interfaces relieves users from scrolling, be it horizontal (Live) or vertical (Reason).
All connections are on one page.
Have you tried Bidule's arp? I've gotten cool synth sounds off that thing!

xpl2003
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:01 pm

arp

Post by xpl2003 » Sun May 08, 2005 9:58 am

I tried adding the arp but all i got was a box with some numbers in - no graphical interface!

Am i missing something?

Bidule does seem to have alot more modules.

My trheory is to use this for my external hardware and to add apreregiators, midi clock out if possible to multiple devices.

It does look useful.

conny
Posts: 3237
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by conny » Sun May 08, 2005 10:39 am

I'm like Pavlov's dog: Mention Bidule and I pop up...
Anyway - I have EnergyXT demo but have not used it, so I don't know.
And yes, the standard arp in Bidule is a bit rudimentary.
I have done some progress in building my own with Bidule modules, using sliders instead of numbers etc, but not finished that one yet.
I'm pretty sure the arp is being one of the things the very nice and receptive Plogue people will update in some time.
But it's fun to make your own stuff, too!

Have a look in the tips and tricks section here, if you havn't, there are some Bidule sharing things, some of mine are a little far out, though.

PS
Posted this on the Plogue site previous night:
http://www.plogue.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1103

// C
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/

conny
Posts: 3237
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by conny » Sun May 08, 2005 1:15 pm

First try.
GUI with 8 sliders (-24 to +24 semitones)
Arp is hardwired to play 16th's in sync with host.

http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/Bidule/Li ... t_2.bidule

// C
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/

conny
Posts: 3237
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by conny » Sun May 08, 2005 7:03 pm

Sorry, forum general, this should be in the tips and tricks, but I didn't start it! :oops:

Bidule arp updated, now with 16 values.
Length variable from 4, 8 to 16.
Times from 1/32 to 1/1.
Gate time may be scaled from 1 to 1/10.
Same link as above.
// C
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/

mikemc
Posts: 5454
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Maryland USA
Contact:

Post by mikemc » Mon May 09, 2005 3:53 pm

I just have started using bidule, and plugged a bunch of stuff together at random without reading anything :) it's pretty fun. It has a ton of features.

I've used the free energyXT, and it is great for being able to create subgroups of VSTs within a Live midi track and for isolating "Live crasher" VSTs so that they work.

conny
Posts: 3237
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by conny » Mon May 09, 2005 3:57 pm

I didn't know there was a free EnergyXT.
I think mine is a demo thing.

BTW: Bidule is very hard on ID's for VST's. It does not load VST's when duplicate ID's are found (following some spec I guess).
A hex editor may solve that.

// C
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/

mikemc
Posts: 5454
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Maryland USA
Contact:

Post by mikemc » Mon May 09, 2005 5:38 pm

I didn't know there was a free EnergyXT.
I think mine is a demo thing.
yes, that's what I mean. They were calling it "free energyXT" a while back.

electrik noize
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 11:44 pm

bidule usage

Post by electrik noize » Tue May 10, 2005 12:04 am

So how does one go about using/interfacing Bidule with Live? What does it offer that enhances Lives production? I see that a lot of people sing its praises.

-noize

conny
Posts: 3237
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by conny » Tue May 10, 2005 1:15 am

When running both standalone, on PC the easiest way to hook them up is by sharing midi via Midi Yoke.
But even better is to download the Bidule VST bridge (better than rewire):
* Run Bidule as VST/VSTi from inside Live
* Route midi/audio back and forth (some limitations here but together with Midi Yoke you can get almost everything to be routed back and forth)
* Bidule may host VST's that takes both midi and audio and that outputs both midi and audio - that way you can go beyond the limitations of Live's own routings. In Bidule you will see all ins and outs and may connect them to your liking.
* You may quite easy set up you own logic in Bidule, working on your audio/midi from Live

Example. right now by me:
I send two midi streams from Live to Bidule on different channels.
Bidule calculates the difference between them and sends back a new midi stream composed of that, going to Impulse in Live - instant surprise!

Easiest:
Host a midi plug in Bidule, feed it from Live, get the processed Midi back in Live (Live itself does not make use of external midi plugs that outputs midi). Bidule has for instance a Midi delay.

And more.

Like using/building a arpeggiator in Bidule, synced from Live..

// C
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/

Former Pharaoh
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:42 pm
Location: Inside Britney's vag

Re: bidule usage

Post by Former Pharaoh » Tue May 10, 2005 2:34 am

electrik noize wrote:So how does one go about using/interfacing Bidule with Live? What does it offer that enhances Lives production? I see that a lot of people sing its praises.

-noize
One REALLY cool feature that Live is missing is the capability to record CC automations within clips in the Session view. Using Bidule as a VSTi allowes me to do this.

conny
Posts: 3237
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by conny » Tue May 10, 2005 3:15 am

... HOW? :oops:
// c
PC Laptop Acer, XP Home SP2, build in crappy sound card.
Bleeps and Blops!
http://bluemoose.greatnow.com/

Former Pharaoh
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:42 pm
Location: Inside Britney's vag

Post by Former Pharaoh » Tue May 10, 2005 4:36 am

conny wrote:... HOW? :oops:
// c
Just do a typical Bidule VST bridge setup within Live. I use a splitter so I connect a CC to Params bidule to the same channel of the synth/fx I want to automate. :wink:

electrik noize
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 11:44 pm

Post by electrik noize » Tue May 10, 2005 10:52 pm

Former Pharaoh wrote:

Just do a typical Bidule VST bridge setup within Live. I use a splitter so I connect a CC to Params bidule to the same channel of the synth/fx I want to automate. :wink:
Cool :D

Post Reply