Developing your 'sound' / everything I do sounds different!

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Citizen

Developing your 'sound' / everything I do sounds different!

Post by Citizen » Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:58 pm

I'm just wondering what people's thoughts are regarding finding one's own personal 'sound'.

I've been producing for two years, and although I frequently make things that I'm happy with - it all sounds quite varied - almost as if it had been made by many different people! :roll: (even when working within the same genre/tempo)

I'm cool with this, though, I guess.... :? - I'm sure that this is just part of the normal learning process, trying different sounds, tools and processes....BUT.... I wonder if it is of any benefit to try and refine a cohesive 'direction'? 8)

The flipside of this, of course, are artists that get too constrained by their 'own' sound - and endlessly regurgitate variations of the same song - perhaps this is a more common phenomenon for artists that have some sort of reputation - and therefore an audience with some degree of expectation as to what you 'should' sound like - surely a double-edged sword. :?

Keen to hear some thoughts on this from more experienced producers:

• How did you find 'your' sound? (if you have)

• Do you therefore feel constrained by it, or by others established expectations of you?

• Should you 'force' the matter at some point? should one impose restrictions re. tools and processes in order to acheive a 'sound'?

•...or just continue to experiement, despite the lack of cohesion between track to track?

alltomorrowsparties

Re: Developing your 'sound' / everything I do sounds different!

Post by alltomorrowsparties » Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:55 am

there are no quick fixes to making your music original and finding your own unique sound is something really difficult in these modern times we live in.....*but* there are a couple of things which can help....