RM1X = SyncMaster (Midiclock) -> LIVE = Slave -> using LOOP

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Live is Live na na na na

RM1X = SyncMaster (Midiclock) -> LIVE = Slave -> using LOOP

Post by Live is Live na na na na » Sat Feb 02, 2002 11:12 pm

We are a Yamaha RM1X for Syncmaster (Midiclock) in combination with Ableton Live..


Is it possible to use the loopmode when Ableton Live runs in Sync with the Rm1x...

In Ableton the received tempo is not constant...

If the Rm1x sends at 130 BPM, Ableton Live changes between 20 and 140 BPM !!!!

Whats wrong with it ????

(using a G4 Powerbook and an emagic mt4 midi interface...)


cheers...

neepawa
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 7:41 pm
Location: Toronto

Post by neepawa » Mon Feb 04, 2002 1:28 pm

I have experienced a similar, but not so drastic, problem. I'm trying to use a TR-909 as a master, and the tempo seems to drift ever so slightly -- Live gets out of synch by about 16th note and then seems to try and correct itself. I haven't left it running for long enough to see the pattern. It's definitely unusable though.

Powerbook G4 + Midisport 8x8 + MOTU 828

Guest

live = slave via midi clock to hardware (drumachine, sequencer)

Post by Guest » Mon Feb 04, 2002 5:08 pm

same story happened to me with various hardware sequencers >>> following phenomen occurs: live moves around half of the bpm as suggested by hardware advice. start, stop etc. works >>> equipment used >>> g4 titanium, emagic mt4, rme multiface >>> any success of other users? any tips & tricks welcome.

Larsen
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2002 5:15 pm
Contact:

Post by Larsen » Tue Mar 12, 2002 5:19 pm

I also had problems syncing Live to a sequencer on a powerbook g3 / mt4 via midi clock. The tempo in live was always 10 - 30 bmp slower than the master sequencer. Start / stop worked. I tried out other programs (dynamo, reason demo...) but they all had exactly the same symptoms. Than I switched to my g4 desktop with a amt8: still no success. After changing the midi interface from the amt8 to a digi001 midi port it worked without any problems. So either emagic have a bad driver for their interfaces (mt4 and amt8 use the same) or the usb connection causes errors. I wrote to emagic but they just told me to use MTC instead of midi clock (no real solution for me because dynamo doesn´t work with MTC, and MTC doesn´t follow BMP-changes) So anyone had success syncing live, reason ... via a usb midi-interface???

tronso
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2002 8:18 am

Post by tronso » Wed Mar 13, 2002 8:40 am

This sounds very familiar!
The first time I tried LIVE, I installed the demo on my Intel Pentium3 933mhx daw (win98SE), with 512mb ram and good soundcard, Event Gina and Emagic AMT8 midiinterface. Whenever I tried to slave LIVE to my RM1x, I had the same problems with the tempo jumping around. Then I tried LIVE on my laptop, a Dell Inspiron 5000 (pentium3 733, 256mb ram, Win98SE,DigigramVXpocket soundcard).
Using the RM1x as the master now worked perfectly!!
The midiinterface on my laptop is an old 1 in/out Midilink connected to the serial port.
The Rm1x runs through my AMT8, as it also sends sync to KorgER1 and EA1, and some miditracks to a Novation Nova.
To my big surprise this setup has proven very reliable!I was so thrilled I ordered LIVE right away, because it's the laptop I'll be taking with me on stage.

I don't know how much help this was, but maybe it helps to see that things work as intended sometimes...

cheers
Tronso

Ableton 08

midi

Post by Ableton 08 » Wed Mar 13, 2002 1:10 pm

hi guys,

we know there are some problems with the midi sync caused by some midi interfaces.
we tried to use an emagic mt4 togehter with a korg electribe er-1 and it was not working. when we tried it with a midiman midisport usb 2*2 it was no problem.

sven
ableton

JPTHere

Has anyone tried the MOTU Express XT with success

Post by JPTHere » Thu Mar 14, 2002 7:20 pm

in this situation of attempting to sync LIVE with an incoming MIDI Clock source?

Thanks

buddy casino

midi

Post by buddy casino » Fri Mar 22, 2002 11:44 pm

Ableton 08 wrote: hi guys,

we know there are some problems with the midi sync caused by some midi interfaces.
we tried to use an emagic mt4 togehter with a korg electribe er-1 and it was not working. when we tried it with a midiman midisport usb 2*2 it was no problem.

sven
ableton
Hi Sven,

I have a powerbook G3 400 FireWire with OS 9.1 and OMS 2.3.8 installed together with the Emagic MT4 and have expeareanced the same problem. I want to use it slaved to the sequencer of my Roland XP60 workstation. I used to use a Lexicon JamMan witch syncs without problems to the Roland synth.

After reading your post i bought the midiman midisport USB 2x2 but still cant get it to sync!!! I use the demo version of live and will buy it immediately as soon as i know that this problem is fixed in a later version.

Regards,
buddy casino

Guest

midi sync

Post by Guest » Sat Mar 23, 2002 3:09 pm

hi there!

i using the steinberg usb2midi and there are not so drastic proplems. i use the mpc2000xl as master but if i slow down the tempo to get a drop life on stage....?????.....Live needs up to 50seconds to come within the tempo...that´s not so good for liveacting. i hope ableton de-bug this.

for all rme (mac) users out there. i am very frustrated about the guys at rme. there told me (@musikmesse) that the midi driver for this good audiocard would aviable on friday 15.03.02 but that is not so..why..and what are the proplems.
is there anyone with the same problem?

best regards

ton
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2002 11:55 am
Location: year 2032

Re: midi

Post by ton » Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:23 pm

Ableton 08 wrote:we know there are some problems with the midi sync caused by some midi interfaces.
we tried to use an emagic mt4 togehter with a korg electribe er-1 and it was not working. when we tried it with a midiman midisport usb 2*2 it was no problem.

sven
ableton
Ok, is there a list of midi interfaces which work well and badly with various Live versions? Like

Live 7:
- good midi interfaces
- bad midi interfaces

Live 8:
- good midi interfaces
- bad midi interfaces

Post Reply