All times are UTC

 
 



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:20 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:14 am
Posts: 134
Hello Everyone!

I am currently documenting videos of what is happening and will be posting links to them shortly after this post, so if you don't quite understand my problem, I promise you will once the video comes in. But anyways, I am a Hip-Hop producer looking to get really into experimentation and trying to break away from the MPC. I love Ableton and can feel its versatility when I use it. My only issue is an extremely huge issue: My external midi randomly holds a random note/loop/chord when I use my MOTU micro lite midi interface with ableton. However, when I use my MPC renaissance just as a midi interface and use push as my midi controller, I do not have this problem. I have checked the connection settings of the MPC and have mirrored the MOTU interface to these settings to try to see if it was something I did wrong when setting up my interface and I still had no success. My external midi (analog synths) works completely fine with my mpc being its interface. Is the issue possibly a broken MOTU interface? Ive run the latests driver updates and everything on it. Has anyone ever experienced this? Short videos are on the way of what I am experiencing. I would have no issues using my MPC as my midi interface if it wasnt so gosh darn big lol, id rather use my racked interface. Please help me!


Thank you everyone!

Videos incoming in 15 minutes!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:33 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:14 am
Posts: 134
Working Video

http://youtu.be/_HG0P1ONrZw

Non Working Video

http://youtu.be/eK0FkLBRNYo

Please Help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 10:35 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:14 am
Posts: 134
anybody?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:23 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 1336
Does it cause the "hold" on any connected device? What exactly are you connecting into the MOTU and why?

All my gear has USB MIDI interfaces so I don't have a need for a MIDI interface but I assume you need it for some gear that only has MIDI. From the video you are triggering notes from the Push and they stick. Is Push connected MIDI into the MOTU there?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2013 5:06 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 5:40 pm
Posts: 428
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Perhaps you should write out (or post a picture or diagram of) your MIDI set-up. seems strange to me but while the videos were helpful in describing the results of the problem they didn't give enough info on setup.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2013 4:08 pm 

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:14 am
Posts: 134
I thank you for your help. I feel that this is my issue, I have gone into midi setup and it isnt connected to anything. I am making a video to document this because it wont allow me to connect it to the devices of my choice. What Am I doing wrong? Youll see in video. Upload in 15 ish mins.

EDIT: Watched a tutorial on youtube on how to setup my exact interface lol, sorry everyone! I was just a complete midi noob, problem fixed!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:30 pm 

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Posts: 1336
Good to hear... Will send you the bill for my time :)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Having External Midi Hardware Issues with Ableton
PostPosted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:32 am 

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am
Posts: 116
put MIDI-OX + midi yoke in between our devices and Ableton.

you need to use 2 ports for each device to avoid loop.

So youredevice -> midi yoke 1 -> ableton.
Ableton -> midi yoke 2 - > your device.

So if your device is plugged as a control surface you can see if it is your device sending accidental notes or the script is doing something wrong.

_________________
Marat Bakirov

https://soundcloud.com/marat-bakirov


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC

 
 

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group