Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Sun Dec 15, 2013 3:06 am

eyeknow wrote:I just noticed this thread. I don't have live installed here on this new computer yet, but I'll check it out when I do!
keep in mind that it might work on live 8 but i have only tested on live 9.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by eyeknow » Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:23 am

Yeah, I was only thinking about 9 with this 8)

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Sun Dec 15, 2013 5:30 am

eyeknow wrote:Yeah, I was only thinking about 9 with this 8)
would be nice to hear some feedback.

I am thinking in moving metronome back to shift+rec and make shift + Mixer 9 to be automation arm as I think I have found out how to program that.

the idea is tha it is nice to see overdub and automation arm in LED's.
It would be nice to see metronome also, but for metronome it is obvious - you can hear that. So having no visual indicator for metronome might be ok . So we could put metronome to shift+rec and make shift+mixer9 as automation.


but for current version metronome is on shift+mixer9.
Mixer9 is overdub.

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Sun Dec 15, 2013 12:32 pm

current version

the functionaliity is kinda stabilized. I've done all that was easy


It might not work well on Novation Impulse 25 as the original scripts were recreated not very well and I do not have impulse 25 to test the stuff.

I think the script is powerfull enough already.

Current Features
Mixer button 9 = OverDub
Shift + Mixer button 9 = Automation record on/off
Shift + Rec = Metronome on/off

Shift + Play = Undo
Shift + Stop = Stop all clips

Shift + track mixer button = rec this track..

Shift + Clip buttons are now clip stop.

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:16 am

Has anyone tried this?
Would love to hear some feedback.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by eyeknow » Tue Dec 24, 2013 6:02 am

Oh yeah, forgot about this, will check it out now.....

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by eyeknow » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:08 am

Hmmmmmm, not sure I understand what to do.....will reread from the beginning.....

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by eyeknow » Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:57 pm

I don't understand
Shift + Clip buttons are now clip stop.
But the rest seems terrific. As mentioned the shift for record enable is great, and the 9/master is especially helpful too.

Also like the shift/rec for the metronome. HUGE THANKS!!!!!!!

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Tue Jan 07, 2014 12:14 am

Shift + Clip buttons are now clip stop

when PADS are in clip launch mode (roll+arp simultaneously)

normal tap on them is launching clip.
Shift+ tap stops the same clip.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by eyeknow » Tue Jan 07, 2014 1:55 am

DOH! Ok, got it. Again, very nice.

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Tue Jan 07, 2014 2:02 am

do not forget a well known issue that after shift+soemthing (like track change or bank change) shift is not switched off. this is firmware bug - they do not send shift OFF message ins this case. workaround is just to tap and release shift again.

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Fri Jan 10, 2014 3:42 pm

ok, few more ides came in my mind.

there is an unused button shift+loop.

what we can do is introduce "modes"
so switching shift+loop will switch modes.

in this modes we can introduce another meaning for encoders or clip launch drumpads.
However, i cannot think of what else could be usefull to add.

I was thinking about cue level which we might want to put to some of the encoders.

however if we just need 8 encoders with some values we could remap then with shift without introducing modes.

i.e. Shift + encoder 1 - cue level. Shift+ encoder 2- global pan Shift _ encoder 3- global cross fader and so on.

what do you think guys?

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by eyeknow » Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:26 pm

I'm so grateful for finally taking a few minutes to do this, I really don't know what to ask for (shrug)

I'm a pretty basic guy. Having the record arm stuff, and thing like shift/rec are such a joy I haven't even thought about anything else to add.

I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "modes"

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by mbakirov » Sat Jan 11, 2014 3:12 am

as for modes - think of Launchpad or launchpad95.
launchopad has four modes.
when you press buttons on top, the other buttons do change the behavior.
so we could map pads or encoders to something new.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Novation Impulse scripts - added overdub,arm selected track

Post by eyeknow » Sun Feb 02, 2014 2:21 pm

Ok, got it now.

Post Reply