Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
OhNoxius
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 9:09 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by OhNoxius » Tue May 16, 2017 7:11 pm

...as usual, I found the solution just after posting the video. After pressing Shift + Loop each track gets selected when it's armed :)

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by mbakirov » Tue May 23, 2017 2:34 pm

Hi.
Sorry for the late answer. I swear I was sure I did answer.
Shift+Loop is a good option but should not be the cure for this. It should work!
If you could maybe send the logs from ableton right after an issue happens?

it should be in the place like
"C:\Users\<username>AppData\Roaming\Ableton\Live 9.5\Preferences\Log.txt"

also which version of ableton you are using?

thank you!

dannychen613
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:50 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by dannychen613 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:52 am

Found this in 2017 and this is pure fucking genius!! Thank you so much. This is the dream control I have been dreaming of!

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by mbakirov » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:45 pm

dannychen613 wrote:Found this in 2017 and this is pure fucking genius!! Thank you so much. This is the dream control I have been dreaming of!
Thank you, much appreciated.

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by mbakirov » Fri Apr 05, 2019 3:42 am

Has anyone tried it with ableton 10?
i dont have ableton 10 but i might want to get trial/beta if it is required...

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by mbakirov » Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:15 pm

Hi all

i thought it would be easier if i put a specific folder to download.
https://github.com/maratbakirov/Ableton ... /_releases
i have started looking into the ableton 10 scripts, it seems to have some small changes related to platform change (maybe different python version?) but the inner code actually seems to be kinda same.

i hope i will be able to adapt my scripts to v 10.

thank you!

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by mbakirov » Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:34 pm

Update
https://github.com/maratbakirov/Ableton ... /_releases

here is the release for Ableton 10.

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by mbakirov » Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:10 am

if anyone owns an impulse and ableton 10 please try and let me know. thank you!

kenny89
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:13 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by kenny89 » Thu Oct 24, 2019 10:27 am

mbakirov wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:10 am
if anyone owns an impulse and ableton 10 please try and let me know. thank you!
Hi,

first of all THANK YOU for your job! I just bought an Impulse and your script is a great add-on to the original included in Ableton.
I have Live 10 Suite and your script works fine, except for SHIFT + FFWD/RW (they don't select next/prev device).

Also, can I ask you a feature update?
When I press a drum pad that is MIDI-mapped to a device (es. ON-OFF switch) I can't see the led feedback: I have to press and release "Shift" to be able to refresh LED status of drum pads... I think the problem is that LED brightness is strictly related to pad pressure, so it overrides the data received from Ableton.
I tried to make some experiments but I discovered that Novation Impulse cannot receive MIDI data from MIDI tracks, in Ableton (like launchpads do).

Thank you very much, anyway!
Kind regards,
K

mbakirov
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:55 am

Re: Novation Impulse enhanced scripts -live performance and arm

Post by mbakirov » Fri Oct 25, 2019 1:09 am

HI.

thank you very much for your feedback, i am glad someone else uses my work :)

i think i saw some issues with shift fwd/rw as well and i dont think they are ableton 10 specific. i will look when i had time.

could you please elaborate more about the midi led you are talking about? i think that the leds can actually get the midi data, basically if you add another track and map midi input from impulse back to the midi out in impulse, this should do the trick of lighting the pads.

maybe i did misunderstand what you mean about the pad LEDs ?

i was only changing the ableton daw integration, which is a special mode in impulse (technically ableton sends a special sysex that makes impulse work in the "daw" mode which is a bit different to normal operations).

Post Reply