What hardware should I get?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
oober349

What hardware should I get?

Post by oober349 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:52 pm

Hi guys--

I'm an experimental laptop musician and composer and I'm looking to enhance my live performance capabilities with an mpc-type device. I use Ableton Live 9.

My issue is this: I want to use one of these types of devices but I have a few very specific parameters I need met

-I want to be able to interface with 2 other midi controllers (a keyboard and an EWI) with this device, although if that's possible by connecting them to the laptop that's fine.

-I want to be able to do live in-performance recordings to be used during my set (the microphone can have either an xlr or usb output for this exercise)

-I want to be able to loop recordings and samples I make with the midi controllers, mic and samples on my computer, and I don't want to be limited to less than a dozen or so loops.

-I want to have the option of disabling beat quantization. It will be used sometimes, but I want it to be possible to have multiple tracks, samples or on-the-spot recorded loops totally out of phase with each other without a snapped to tempo.

I have looked at a few mpcs, including the akai renaissance, which looks cool. The APC40 seems like a nice device, and the price certainly is right.

What do you guys think? Do I need a separate mpc and loop pedal? Is the desire for beat quantization a pipe dream? What should I get?

yur2die4

Re: What hardware should I get?

Post by yur2die4 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:15 pm

What gear do you have right now? So there's no overlap.

Sounds like an audio interface and a controller with pads or something, but it's hard to discern your needs.