Trackfader just drops to -66

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Gothboy
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: US Eastern Seaboard
Contact:

Trackfader just drops to -66

Post by Gothboy » Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:15 pm

For no reason when working in Live 9.0.6 one of my track faders just drops to -66db. There's no automation there I'm literally just starting out on a session. I'll bring it back up it drops again. Seems to literally be the track I happen to be working with at the time making it almost impossible to workaround. Have quit out of the session to start anew only to have it happen again....this is crazy and driving me nuts. Anyone ever seen this or have suggestions?
Mac Pro Quad Core Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz. 16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11.6
Live Suite 9.1.7 and 10.1.9

M-bition
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 5:22 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trackfader just drops to -66

Post by M-bition » Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:27 pm

Maybe your midi-controller is defective and sends a midi message ?

Tone Deft
Posts: 23911
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Trackfader just drops to -66

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:37 pm

if you hold down SHIFT when you start a new set you get a truly blank default set.

you can use the Live browser to bring material from an old set to a new one.

disconnect all your external hardware, something could be going out, tickle a controller then gets sent back in. there are millions of stupid little ways to set up traps with gear.

if it always happens at the same time from after starting then that's pretty much the definition of automation. it's hard for something to accidentally happen over and over at the same time without automation.


maybe Live is just f-ing with you because you suck. quit making music and go get a PlayStation.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

Gothboy
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: US Eastern Seaboard
Contact:

Re: Trackfader just drops to -66

Post by Gothboy » Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:16 pm

M-bition wrote:Maybe your midi-controller is defective and sends a midi message?
No It's been working just fine....and I'm not even touching it when this happens...but I'll keep it in mind. :wink:
Mac Pro Quad Core Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz. 16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11.6
Live Suite 9.1.7 and 10.1.9

Gothboy
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:14 pm
Location: US Eastern Seaboard
Contact:

Re: Trackfader just drops to -66

Post by Gothboy » Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:20 pm

Tone Deft wrote: maybe Live is just f-ing with you because you suck. quit making music and go get a PlayStation.
Seriously not helping there...thought this was part of your signature until I used quote.
Mac Pro Quad Core Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz. 16 GB RAM
Mountain Lion 10.8.5/El Capitan 10.11.6
Live Suite 9.1.7 and 10.1.9

Tone Deft
Posts: 23911
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: SF, CA

Re: Trackfader just drops to -66

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:24 pm

Gothboy wrote:
Tone Deft wrote: maybe Live is just f-ing with you because you suck. quit making music and go get a PlayStation.
Seriously not helping there...thought this was part of your signature until I used quote.
lighten up junior. with all the rest I wrote? fuck off.

yeah I said it.
"Obsession is a great substitute for talent." - Steve Martin on learning the banjo

Dell Inspiron 15 7000, Live 10.1, Win10 Home, Edirol UA101, APC40, Remote SL, SPD-SX, mic, POD500HDX, JX305, Nova
soundcloud.com/tone-deft

muthafunka
Posts: 2236
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: Trackfader just drops to -66

Post by muthafunka » Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:27 am

Gothboy wrote:
M-bition wrote:Maybe your midi-controller is defective and sends a midi message?
No It's been working just fine....and I'm not even touching it when this happens...but I'll keep it in mind. :wink:
Unplug the controller and see if it still does it. I've seen controllers sending without being touched.

Post Reply