touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
soundsliketree
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 5:59 am
Location: Berkeley, CA
Contact:

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by soundsliketree » Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:06 pm

Fantastic work, TouchAble people!
I'm blown away that you have given v2 as a free upgrade for v1 users.

kcp
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:40 am
Location: abq, nm

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by kcp » Tue Nov 26, 2013 10:38 pm

Thanks Touchable. I'm very impressed. While I did have connectivity issues at first, a reboot seems to have cleared all that up.

I used to view Touchable as a second rate app after Lemur, but they've really stepped up their game with this new version.


Le k
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by Le k » Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:34 am

soundsliketree wrote:Fantastic work, TouchAble people!
I'm blown away that you have given v2 as a free upgrade for v1 users.
thanks! Honestly that is a big gift we give to our users, I hope people like you will help us to find some new users, this way we will be able to push the app forward, there is still so much to do . Comment on the iTunes page of the app, share on social medias, forum, all of these simple things are very helpful :)
Have fun!
TouchAble App - IOS controller for Ableton Live
http://www.touch-able.com

Sylvain Garcia / Le K Ableton Certified trainer
http://www.ableton.com/pages/education/ ... ain_garcia
http://www.le-k.org

Image

djsince74
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:43 am

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by djsince74 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:00 am

Hi

I've used Live (but not intensively) for around 5 years now and last week bought an Ipad and Touchable. I'm blown away with the potential here, but I have a lot to learn.

I am interested in DJing with Touchable and wondered if anybody could suggest any Ableton/Touchable combinations that would work well or point the way to anyresources.

I'm on a pretty steep learning curve, but loving it so far.
Any help gratefully received

Le k
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by Le k » Wed Nov 27, 2013 10:18 am

djsince74 wrote:Hi

I've used Live (but not intensively) for around 5 years now and last week bought an Ipad and Touchable. I'm blown away with the potential here, but I have a lot to learn.

I am interested in DJing with Touchable and wondered if anybody could suggest any Ableton/Touchable combinations that would work well or point the way to anyresources.

I'm on a pretty steep learning curve, but loving it so far.
Any help gratefully received
we made a small video tutorial a while ago to show a simple way to dj with touchAble, this one is with v1 but you can obviously do the same (and more) with v2:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6wNiMNbXLfs
cheers
TouchAble App - IOS controller for Ableton Live
http://www.touch-able.com

Sylvain Garcia / Le K Ableton Certified trainer
http://www.ableton.com/pages/education/ ... ain_garcia
http://www.le-k.org

Image

djsince74
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 9:43 am

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by djsince74 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:13 am

Thanks very much for that.

Have looked at it and it is a great start. Will do that as a starting point. Probably start with only two channels and then move to 4.

Next will have to sort out FX racks etc - Just got to use the XY fader with filters for mixing.

Valery_Kondakoff
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:40 am

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by Valery_Kondakoff » Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:21 pm

Three questions:

1. If there is no way to quantize recorded notes in MIDI clip editor?
2. If there is a way to enable smth like 'snap to grid' in MIDI clip editor?
3. How can I duplicate a clip to a new clip slot?

Thank you!
CU
VK

Valery_Kondakoff
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:40 am

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by Valery_Kondakoff » Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:45 pm

The answer on a question #3: Hold the Add button and tap quickly on a clip to duplicate it to the slot below. Great! ;)
CU
VK

Le k
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by Le k » Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:03 pm

kenporter wrote:Seems pretty buggy on my end. Quite often, when using the browser I get two of the same devices displayed. Also, when trying to drag a 3rd party plugin onto a track from the TouchAble browser I get a "The Preset cannot be loaded. It is probably broken" message in Live. However, dragging the same plugin from the Live browser works just fine. I also seem to lose my wifi connection a lot, at least Live stops responding to the things I do in the TouchAble app. I don't have this issue at all when using Livecontrol 2 which I also use via the same wifi setup. I may be one of a few, but I have had nothing but issues getting Touchable to work since its version 1 was released. Never had any issues with any other apps like this. :( I really want to like this app, because it seems sooooo powerful and awesome.

Ken
Ken, did the 2.01 update fix your issues?
TouchAble App - IOS controller for Ableton Live
http://www.touch-able.com

Sylvain Garcia / Le K Ableton Certified trainer
http://www.ableton.com/pages/education/ ... ain_garcia
http://www.le-k.org

Image

kenporter
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: 5,660 miles from Ableton HQ

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by kenporter » Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:49 pm

Le k wrote:
Ken, did the 2.01 update fix your issues?
Just saw the update was installed and will try it now. Thanks man!

Ken

kenporter
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: 5,660 miles from Ableton HQ

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by kenporter » Thu Nov 28, 2013 7:27 pm

Le k wrote:
Ken, did the 2.01 update fix your issues?
So much better, thanks!!!! I wish I could pull in 3rd party plugins from the app browser, without wrapping it into a Rack or creating presets. I saw Chris' post that Live doesn't support this. The internal Live devices work though without having to select presets. Hopefully Ableton will incorporate this at some point soon.

Now I am looking forward to using it! :)

Thanks,
Ken

jestermgee
Posts: 3382
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by jestermgee » Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:18 pm

kenporter wrote: I wish I could pull in 3rd party plugins from the app browser, without wrapping it into a Rack or creating presets. I saw Chris' post that Live doesn't support this. The internal Live devices work though without having to select presets. Hopefully Ableton will incorporate this at some point soon.
Yeah, can't achieve that and I doubt Ableton will give us the ability to do so. Many users are creating VST presets for Push mainly but with touchable this is also a good option too.

I have a preset pack for Omnisphere and Queglay has a preset pack for the Komplete package all in the Push section. If there are VSTs I own or can get donations for then I am happy to create more.

Touchable is frekin awesome. Any new users to Ableton could not go wrong as a first controller surface.

Le k
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by Le k » Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:18 am

Touchable is frekin awesome. Any new users to Ableton could not go wrong as a first controller surface
that's good to hear! :D
TouchAble App - IOS controller for Ableton Live
http://www.touch-able.com

Sylvain Garcia / Le K Ableton Certified trainer
http://www.ableton.com/pages/education/ ... ain_garcia
http://www.le-k.org

Image

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: touchAble 2 is on the App Store.

Post by TomViolenz » Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:22 am

jestermgee wrote:
kenporter wrote: I wish I could pull in 3rd party plugins from the app browser, without wrapping it into a Rack or creating presets. I saw Chris' post that Live doesn't support this. The internal Live devices work though without having to select presets. Hopefully Ableton will incorporate this at some point soon.
Yeah, can't achieve that and I doubt Ableton will give us the ability to do so. Many users are creating VST presets for Push mainly but with touchable this is also a good option too.

I have a preset pack for Omnisphere and Queglay has a preset pack for the Komplete package all in the Push section. If there are VSTs I own or can get donations for then I am happy to create more.
There is also an alternative mapping for Lives own devices available in the Push section. This makes them much more usable!

Post Reply