volume fader keeps moving

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
keydaking
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:49 am
Location: Philly, PA

volume fader keeps moving

Post by keydaking » Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:31 am

So I was working on a new track and noticed that fader on the channel that my bass was on,
kept moving. I set it to -23.4db, next thing I know its at -16db. At first I thought it may have been my headphone cord(son was sleeping).
But that wasn't it. Has anyone else had this issue? I'm rocking live 8 suite.
Dual Quad Core|8gb ram|Axion 49|FT Pro|Live 8 Suite|Komplelte 8|Waves Mercury

tedlogan
Posts: 1344
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 7:23 pm
Location: Leamington Spa, UK
Contact:

Re: volume fader keeps moving

Post by tedlogan » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:58 am

Sounds like you have automation data on it. Right click the volume fader and choose "delete automation". Set the volume to the desired level.

ash
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:31 am
Location: Port Macquarie, Australia

Re: volume fader keeps moving

Post by ash » Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:19 pm

or, like me, i had a dodgy hardware controller (trigger finger) that was emitting cc data through a pot uncontrollably?

i had random levels in live moving until i retired the controller..
OS X 10.10.2, Live9 Suite, More Waves plugs than I can use,
Push, RME Babyface, APC-40, Akai LPK,
Novation X Stat 49 and Zero ReMote SL,
iMac 27" quad, MacBook Air,
Old guitars ('63 Strat, '68 ES-335),
Custom acoustics.

long live the small fish

keydaking
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 3:49 am
Location: Philly, PA

Re: volume fader keeps moving

Post by keydaking » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:52 pm

I went back into the session and noticed that one
Of the squares next to midi assign clip were randomly
Going off. So I think it may be the controller. I have a relatively
New axiom 49. Hopefully that's not it.
Dual Quad Core|8gb ram|Axion 49|FT Pro|Live 8 Suite|Komplelte 8|Waves Mercury

ash
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:31 am
Location: Port Macquarie, Australia

Re: volume fader keeps moving

Post by ash » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:22 am

yeah, before i retired the TF i used to remedy it temporarily by
moving the pot/slider around (to 'exercise' it)..

maybe it was some sort of material build up in the pot/slider..

in your case it may be a bad one that needs looking at if it's under warranty?
OS X 10.10.2, Live9 Suite, More Waves plugs than I can use,
Push, RME Babyface, APC-40, Akai LPK,
Novation X Stat 49 and Zero ReMote SL,
iMac 27" quad, MacBook Air,
Old guitars ('63 Strat, '68 ES-335),
Custom acoustics.

long live the small fish

Post Reply