Page 3 of 3

Re: Roland "Aira" - hardware drum machine :)

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:57 pm
by kb420
Since NONE of it is TRUE analog, can't they just make the whole system a plug in???

Re: Roland "Aira" - hardware drum machine :)

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:58 pm
by Tarekith
In one of the interviews today they said they are making plug ins of their most popular synths, and that the SH1 at least will work as a controller for them. I'd imagine the TR8 would do the same if hey do a 808 or 909 plug in.

Re: Roland "Aira" - hardware drum machine :)

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:22 pm
by kb420
D16 Group really beat them to it. They have plugs for all of this already. It may not say Roland, but they sound great.

Re: Roland "Aira" - hardware drum machine :)

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:28 pm
by 102455
Angstrom wrote:This is Roland's Aira range

Image
Are you saying Roland are "jumping the shark"? :lol:

Re: Roland "Aira" - hardware drum machine :)

Posted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:29 am
by icedsushi
kb420 wrote:Since NONE of it is TRUE analog, can't they just make the whole system a plug in???
Yeah right! :)

If it's going to be digital, might as well be a plugin, I mean why not? That way it doesn't take up a huge spot on my desk for something that's not used all that frequently.

I understand the desire for something "hands on" with knobs & buttons. But even that is questionable in my mind if it's modeled. An iPad app would get closer to the hands on experience than a plugin. And also without the bulk.

There is blurb however, on the website about "ACB" (Analog Circuit Behavoir) and they're claiming the enormous calculation & power to emulate precisely...

It sounds like they're hinting or claiming early credit for a new generation of modeling that may be slightly ahead of or practical for current typical computing power...maybe, or could be marketing hype. Who knows, until trying...