What do you guys use to record your OWN sounds

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
SIXTO

What do you guys use to record your OWN sounds

Post by SIXTO » Wed May 25, 2005 5:18 pm

I want to go record cars riding by.. birds.. etc.. what is a cheap way to do that with?????

Thanks
Emancipate yourself from mental slavery, non but ourself can free our mind - Bob Marley

ejectorset

Post by ejectorset » Wed May 25, 2005 5:25 pm

i dont really do field recordings, but a ton of people on another forum i am on use minidisk recorders for that.
13" 2.0 gHz core 2 duo macbook, live 6, korg poly 800 (w/ moog slayer mod), roland rs-09, rhodes mark 1A stage piano, mattel synsonics analog drum machine

sweetjesus

Post by sweetjesus » Wed May 25, 2005 5:34 pm

Percussion stuff I have been using the same samples for about 4 years, always finding new ways of mangling them.

Everything else I synthesize myself. I have an Andromeda which I wiped all the presets for and have made my own sounds. But since that's stuck somewhere overseas at the moment, my last 3 tracks I've exclusively used a JP-8000 and my laptop for its sequencing and recording.

99% of the time I use Ableton built in effects, the only VST that I use is some freeware spectrum analyzer.

Tarekith

Post by Tarekith » Wed May 25, 2005 5:36 pm

Rode NT3 mic and Echo Indigo IO with my laptop works the best for me.

David_T

Post by David_T » Wed May 25, 2005 5:45 pm

I use a Sony Hi-MD minidisc recorder with a Sony stereo T-mic.
Try http://www.minidisco.com

Sucks---I just noticed the price on the entry-level hiMD recorder went down about 50 bucks in just around 4 months rrrrhgh.

You'll need to think about a windscreen (you can put a big mic windscreen over both sides of the T-mic). Also, find the link from minidisco on the WAV conversion software from Sony.