Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by Buleriachk » Sun Feb 16, 2014 10:14 pm

I pretty much agree with this. I want to make music, not design sounds, and Ableton's presets really do suck. Nevertheless, if you experiment with reverb, chorus, etc. you can get a few decent sounds without much effort.

However, by comparison a VST like Sylenth1 or Maschine is much, much better, and the investment is worth the money IMO. Ableton's strong point really is in its audio time stretching, and Push is extremely useful as a device for playing VST's within live using the scale matrices....

But I am very, very underwhelmed with the intrinsic sounds within the Factory patches in Live.
Willyum wrote:The synths are not the problem!
The patches are pure crap to me. I've seen people make amazing sounds with 100% Live Synths and fx on youtube and I've used a couple of 3rd party Live packs that were awesome, so I know the Synths are more than capable. Other Libraries come with about 70% great sounding presets, but for me, Ableton comes with about 5% (and that 5% is usually only good for electro).

Even Lives basic drum kits suck ass compared to Reason's Drum kits. Almost every Kong kit I load is clean and powerful, ready to go out of the box... There are maybe 3 Live drum kits that I would use, and even then it would only be because I'm being lazy. At one point I was actually sampling Reasons kits into Live (I prefer Lives workflow over all other DAWs). If Ableton used good sound designers, Lives sounds would be just as amazing as anything out there.

Write to Abes so we can get better more versatile sounds.

re:dream
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by re:dream » Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:14 am

camoz wrote:
BoddAH wrote:
camoz wrote:operator is for me new. i like it very much. i also use simpler too.
it would be nice if operator would have inputs or more then 2 lfos.
If you have Live 9 suite or M4L you can use the M4L LFO on pretty much anything!

i am still on live 8 and dont think that i switch. do you think m4l lfo works also in l8??

It should...

crystalmsc
Posts: 886
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by crystalmsc » Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:58 am

I'm using them all the time, specially when using CPU intensive synth like Omnisphere. They provide a solid foundation as a cpu friendly instruments with good quality and tight integration with Live and Push.
Kaossilatron - Voicillator
Station: Ableton Live 10 Suite, Obscurium, Push 2, Ultranova, MS-20m, Wavedrums

rydan
Posts: 259
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 2:51 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by rydan » Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:06 am

Buleriachk wrote:Ableton's strong point really is in its audio time stretching
Well, if I would have to pick a single strong point, I would say it's the almost modular routing possibilities (fantastic channel/sidechain routings, combined with racks). Live is a GREAT sound design environment.
Live + M4L, MacBookPro & Ultralite mk3. Plugins from Softube, Soundtoys, Eventide, 2CAudio, Cytomic, AudioDamage, OhmForce, FabFilter, SonicCharge, Waves, MadronaLabs, NI and ExpertSleepers. Oh, and a bunch of hardware... =D

http://www.pinknoise.se

Buleriachk
Posts: 1257
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Contact:

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by Buleriachk » Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:07 pm

Good point - Ableton is a very, very capable program in its strong areas, and it does depend on what one is doing. From a sound design POV, it probably is excellent; I think we were referring to the presets (since, at least for me, I am NOT into tweaking, but rather using what already exists in my own musical contexts.... actually, I am still learning an listening for the most part - there is a LOT of material in Maschine 2 and Komplete, and Sylenth1, and ...)....
rydan wrote:
Buleriachk wrote:Ableton's strong point really is in its audio time stretching
Well, if I would have to pick a single strong point, I would say it's the almost modular routing possibilities (fantastic channel/sidechain routings, combined with racks). Live is a GREAT sound design environment.

kvz8
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: jakarta, indonesia
Contact:

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by kvz8 » Wed Oct 15, 2014 7:05 am

the 'real instruments' presets are not Ableton's forte, i think. the preset works for me. but i do electronic music most of the times. i find that they sit nicely in the mix. i love the huge sound of VSTs but sometimes it's so huge and distinctive that i ended up having to deliberately make room for it in the mix. but like someone said somewhere in this thread, the presets kinda favor the 'hipster' vibes. but then again that hipster sounds are comes from 80s new wave/synthpop era, which always has a spot in electronic music.

so yeah, the presets works for me. and if i need it to sound bigger or to stand out more, i could always throw in some FX. but not the built-in distortion. i never find something that fits for me. i'm still lusting over Reason's SDU4 distortion unit

regarding the time stretching, i really appreciate the quality but i wish they includes an Akai cyclic timestretch mode for that metallic slowing down effect. or did they have it?
+: "isn't that pretty loud?"
-: "what?"

doghouse
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by doghouse » Wed Oct 15, 2014 11:10 am

Referring back to my earlier post (months ago) and all the preset discussions, I wonder why third party sound designers haven't jumped on making patches for the Ableton synths. I've seen a few Live packs for Operator and of course packs with Sampler patches but not many of either, certainly nothing like the glut of banks available for Massive and Sylenth. It seems to me that with all the Live users out there the potential market possibilities for Analog packs alone is large. Heck, Ableton could probably make money hiring freelancers like Richard Devine and Howard Scarr to come up with some packs.

login
Posts: 1819
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by login » Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:25 pm

yeah, some presets packs for operator would be really nice.

ImNotDedYet
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 10:52 pm

Re: Does anyone ever use Live's built-in synths?

Post by ImNotDedYet » Wed Oct 15, 2014 3:36 pm

The latest Ableton Weekly had an interview with Recondite - whose music I love.

He said he uses only Operator as his synth. I thought that was pretty interesting, as were his reasons for using it.

Post Reply