Multi-channel live looping

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
astromass
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 1:11 pm

Multi-channel live looping

Post by astromass » Wed Feb 26, 2014 5:38 am

Hi.
I am in a duo (bass and guitar). We use hardware loopers right now, but are running into some weird issues that are causing us to second guess that approach.
My question:
Is it possible in ableton to have 2 inputs (bass on 1 and guitar on the other) on 2 different channels, with two ableton live looping effects being independently and simultaneously controlled with 2 midi foot controllers (behringer 1010's)?

Thanks for your thoughts and ideas.
It's late and I'm having issues wrapping my head around all of this:)
nyquist theorem and nyquil...


astromass
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 1:11 pm

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by astromass » Wed Feb 26, 2014 3:43 pm

Excellent! Thanks so much for your insightful response.
nyquist theorem and nyquil...


sporkles
Posts: 3189
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 8:43 pm
Location: Schmocation

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by sporkles » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:14 pm

Get a room.

astromass
Posts: 276
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 1:11 pm

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by astromass » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:38 pm

Seriously, does anyone here employ any of the techniques that I am looking for information about?
Any clues, or is this forum full of disrespectful ,bed-wetting sausage slappers?
Just looking for any insight into this side of live looping.
nyquist theorem and nyquil...

yur2die4
Posts: 6423
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by yur2die4 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:05 am

Well. What types of methods have you attempted so far?

I think it'll help if you designate where you're at with getting this started, and where you want to be.

The initial statement is pretty broad.

Do you know how to receive incoming audio from multiple sources?

Do you intend to use Looper? Or multiple audio channels?

With the midi mapping, have you tried a trial scenario to see what does and doesn't work?

Make a set that is intended for experimenting with the concept and get as close to something workable as you can. While doing that you can then ask specific questions about what isn't working for you.

Valiumdupeuple
Posts: 1041
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 12:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by Valiumdupeuple » Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:24 am

astromass wrote:Seriously, does anyone here employ any of the techniques that I am looking for information about?
Any clues, or is this forum full of disrespectful ,bed-wetting sausage slappers?
Just looking for any insight into this side of live looping.
8O
You're question was very clear in your first post,
astromass wrote:My question:
Is it possible in ableton to have 2 inputs (bass on 1 and guitar on the other) on 2 different channels, with two ableton live looping effects being independently and simultaneously controlled with 2 midi foot controllers (behringer 1010's)?
and the answer was "yes" it is possible. That's a "yes or no" question, right ?
So wtf ?
If you have more question, just ask.

Dragonbreath
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:34 am

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by Dragonbreath » Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:27 pm

Like it was allready said. Yes possible.

Now your asking how, what are the pitfalls...


In one word LATENCY

get a sound with really low latency (RME is your best bet in that departement)

For midi foot controller just use you websearch function and find something that works for you. I cant think of anything that specific of the top of my head

hivemind
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2004 8:58 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by hivemind » Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:18 pm

Another issue you might have is that you can only see one Looper plugin at any given time. Sharing a computer can get annoying if you end up needing to do any editing.
But if you're simply playing well-rehearsed material, this shouldn't be an issue.

Also consider that if you decide to use Live, you don't need to use the Looper plugin at all. I use that same midi pedal to loop individual clips across multiple tracks, instead of stacking them in one giant loop. You have a greater amount of flexibility this way (different loop lengths, individual track effects, etc.), but it is much harder to manage.

stringtapper
Posts: 6272
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Multi-channel live looping

Post by stringtapper » Fri Feb 28, 2014 10:09 pm

astromass wrote:Seriously, does anyone here employ any of the techniques that I am looking for information about?
Any clues, or is this forum full of disrespectful ,bed-wetting sausage slappers?
Just looking for any insight into this side of live looping.
Your OP merely asked if it was possible. It is and someone said so.

Failing to clarify what you're really asking for and then insulting people has made you the disrespectful one in this particular scenario.
Unsound Designer

Post Reply