Ableton Live 10

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
timday
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 1:02 pm

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by timday » Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:17 am

Not sure on the toolbar thing though. Ableton has a select tool that does most stuff and a pencil tool that does everything else, and that's what I like about it. Whenever I go back to Pro Tools or Logic I always get annoyed by all the clutter, quite a bit of which is unnecessary tools that I never use. I've never seen the point of a dedicated zoom tool, for example.

A couple of things I would like to see:
- Video clips in session view so you could do a full A/V thing live without going into Max
- Multiple track MIDI editing

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by TomViolenz » Thu Jul 17, 2014 10:33 am

timday wrote:
- Video clips in session view so you could do a full A/V thing live without going into Max
Look into Resolume Avenue, it's basically the same layout as Lives Session view with clips, tracks, scenes, effects... but for video and it's a lot better than anything you could achieve even with M4L.

And you can assign everything to Midi too.
So if you assign an effect in Live and an effect in Avenue to the same Midi control, they will both be triggered/affected together 8) (for example filter sweep and video scene fade or some morph effect)

The demo version lets you do everything, even output to beamers and perform. The only limitation is that it will also display a Resolume logo in this case. (no time limits or limits on any functionality!!!)

Try it it's totaly awesome :D

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by Tagor » Mon Jul 21, 2014 3:36 pm

is there anyway to tell samples they should always be in RAM ?

regretfullySaid
Posts: 8913
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by regretfullySaid » Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:55 pm

Yes
ImageImage

rtcardinal
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:07 am
Location: Vancouver BC
Contact:

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by rtcardinal » Mon Jul 21, 2014 11:21 pm

-Better tools for comping, vocals, and take management.
I do all of this is in Studio One, and it's light years ahead of Live for that. I'd love to see an innovative solution for this kind of work in Live.

-PDC for automation

AxfromMuc
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 7:49 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by AxfromMuc » Wed Jul 23, 2014 12:30 pm

VST3 support

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by Tagor » Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:02 am

MICROTUNING:
- import scales onto the piano roll
- add sliders or knobs onto the roll to tune the single notes
Image

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by Tagor » Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:49 am

i expect the next push with hexagonal pads
and the pianoroll in Live 10 fitting to it shape :)

Image




i expect ableton to be clever and future-compatible
https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/terp ... ontrollers



Image

PLEASE START TO BE INVENTORS AND EXPERT ARTISTS LIKE YOUR ANCESTORS FROM BEAUTIFULL GERMANY -FACE YOUR FUTURE NOW!

regretfullySaid
Posts: 8913
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:50 pm

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by regretfullySaid » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:08 am

Push 2016

Image

That one is not a freebie
ImageImage

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by eyeknow » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:46 am

Just update the one I have already :x

Can't be that hard. It's so close (shrug)

dewaldo
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:18 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by dewaldo » Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:55 am

timday wrote:DITCH THE MIDI SMART SNAP DITCH THE MIDI SMART SNAP
i find it extremely handy for copying swing from one bar to the next... if you hand-draw your drums and like the swing in one part, you can duplicate that really easily.. which i find crucial. but i like hip hop alot

incubator
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 11:26 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by incubator » Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:18 pm

1)PDC for automation!!!!!(Shame)
2)VST3
3)Vocal Intonation tool inside
4)And other small and handy features like in reaper

kb420
Posts: 2740
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 3:35 am
Location: Cydonia on the 4th Planet

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by kb420 » Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:43 pm

I don't know what this thread is about. Ableton has already given us a teaser and updated the webpage!!!!

https://www.ableton.com/en/live/new-in-10/
H20nly wrote:fuck Bitwig.

eyeknow
Posts: 5822
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:16 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by eyeknow » Fri Jul 25, 2014 11:00 pm

kb420 wrote:I don't know what this thread is about. Ableton has already given us a teaser and updated the webpage!!!!

https://www.ableton.com/en/live/new-in-10/
YOU TWAT!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:

Harmonic Progression
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2014 1:06 am

Re: Ableton Live 10

Post by Harmonic Progression » Sun Jul 27, 2014 1:01 am

I don't know what Rick Astley really thinks about Ableton Live, and would rather not waste time getting "Rickrolled", thank you very much.

+1 from me for VST3 support; I thought Live had it already. :o

That's all from me for now. 8)
Desktop: Intel i7 hex-core, 64 GB ram, several SSDs, Focusrite Liquid 56, UAD-2.
Laptop: Alienware Area 51: Intel i9, 32 GB RAM, several more SSDs, UAD Apollo Twin.
Software: Win 10, Cubase, Live+Push2, Maschine, and more.

Post Reply