re-arranging custom sample library

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
djcyph
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:10 pm
Location: NJ USA!

re-arranging custom sample library

Post by djcyph » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:15 am

so i keep all my sample packs in a folder labeled samples on my internal drive, not part of user library or anything. only organization i have is the folder pack they came in. i want to organize into sub folders like tech house, house, techno, etc...

i have a ton of different sample packs. has anyone ever had any issues with live finding the missing samples once i point it to the right root folder when it says samples offline? or can live pretty much find them all as long as they are in the folder u pointed it too?


also, does everyone save their projects and put all their samples in the user library? whats the advantage? should i do that instead?

thanks

Quantize
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:27 pm
Location: London

Re: re-arranging custom sample library

Post by Quantize » Thu Mar 06, 2014 1:08 pm

Hi,

Live will find the samples if you point it to the correct folder.

The system we use for organising samples is to have one folder containing all of the packs exactly as they were purchased and downloaded (the "master library". Then we have a folder that is an "active" set of samples - ie the ones that are most suitable for the music we make. Everytime a new pack arrives, have a listen through and copy the interesting samples to the active library, this helps to weed out the stuff you don't want and makes the library more manageable. If you find that you don't use certain samples in the active library it's easy to just delete them - everything is backed up in the "master"library.

In Live 9 we just use "favourite" folders in the places section of the browser.

Hope this helps.

Keith

re:dream
Posts: 4559
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: re-arranging custom sample library

Post by re:dream » Thu Mar 06, 2014 1:55 pm

djcyph wrote:
also, does everyone save their projects and put all their samples in the user library? whats the advantage? should i do that instead?

thanks
My approach is to keep my samples folders and my live set folders elsewhere (i.e. not in the user library)

- then add the folders by using the Add Folder function under User Places

Bear in Mind that Live already automatically saves samples used in custom presets etc within an automated file structure within your User Library. So keeping your own other samples there may lead to confusion.

Also, your User Library normally lives within your Live 9 folder. So putting your Livesets, projects and folders in there is likely to result in problems when (and if) you ever upgrade to 10. One day. 8)

mholloway
Posts: 1575
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: re-arranging custom sample library

Post by mholloway » Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:46 pm

Just add your personal sample folder to 'places' in the live library. It will scan it (slowly) and then everything will always show up there. Not sure why it needs to be any more complicated than this, and if you are grabbing stuff from there and dragging into live, you should never get a 'not found' message again.
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

djcyph
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:10 pm
Location: NJ USA!

Re: re-arranging custom sample library

Post by djcyph » Fri Mar 07, 2014 5:26 am

mholloway wrote:Just add your personal sample folder to 'places' in the live library. It will scan it (slowly) and then everything will always show up there. Not sure why it needs to be any more complicated than this, and if you are grabbing stuff from there and dragging into live, you should never get a 'not found' message again.
thats how ive done it from day 1....i just was wondering if i was missing out by not utilizing the user library, like if there were any advantages


thanks peoples!

Post Reply