Push or not ?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Danjc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:49 pm

Push or not ?

Post by Danjc » Thu Mar 13, 2014 8:17 pm

I have been toying with the idea of bying push for I while. At the minute I own a Novation 25 SL, Maschine and an APC40 and will have to offload some of this to fund push. I'm happy to sell the Maschine and want to keep the Novation 25 SL but not sure what to do regards the APC40 as I use this all the time. So those with push do you also have an APC that you use alongside push or is it now redundant as push can obviously do what the APC can. Any advice ad comments welcome.

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by TomViolenz » Thu Mar 13, 2014 9:01 pm

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

swishniak
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 11:25 am
Location: Berlin

Re: Push or not ?

Post by swishniak » Thu Mar 13, 2014 9:17 pm

they are totally different. im glad i have both.

Danjc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:49 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Danjc » Fri Mar 14, 2014 1:05 am

TomViolenz wrote:
Danjc wrote:I have been toying with the idea of bying push for I while. At the minute I own a Novation 25 SL, Maschine and an APC40 and will have to offload some of this to fund push. I'm happy to sell the Maschine and want to keep the Novation 25 SL but not sure what to do regards the APC40 as I use this all the time. So those with push do you also have an APC that you use alongside push or is it now redundant as push can obviously do what the APC can. Any advice ad comments welcome.
Did the deluge of other threads towards this topic not help you with this decision?
I for one am starting to get a little tired of them.

No mate they didn't that's why I asked but thanks for your reply 8)

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Tagor » Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:20 am

using push and apc is Deluxe.
on a strong cpu you can pingpong your tracks running 2 instances of live and make transitions by one instance controlled
by oush, and the other via apc.

or you take full controll of devices in one set via push and apc. the apc and your novation
should give you a lot os possibilities. For that i would run the novation with push, to enhance
push with some free "on the fly" mappings for the some parameters you may haved hidden in groups.

Danjc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:49 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Danjc » Fri Mar 14, 2014 3:17 pm

swishniak wrote:they are totally different. im glad i have both.
Tagor wrote:using push and apc is Deluxe.
on a strong cpu you can pingpong your tracks running 2 instances of live and make transitions by one instance controlled
by oush, and the other via apc.

or you take full controll of devices in one set via push and apc. the apc and your novation
should give you a lot os possibilities. For that i would run the novation with push, to enhance
push with some free "on the fly" mappings for the some parameters you may haved hidden in groups.
Thanks for the advice and response it's appreciated.

yorick2300
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:47 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: Push or not ?

Post by yorick2300 » Fri Mar 14, 2014 5:11 pm

I have the Push and, alongside my keyboard, find that it gives me everything I need.

Tagor
Posts: 939
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Tagor » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:19 pm

To Gig "Live" for an hour i need push & apc, because latest after 30 minutes i need to reload another set.
Since i have the possibility to ping pong my own tracks like a DJ with 2 Players, workflow got just more easy.

Dr Dub
Posts: 455
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:20 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Dr Dub » Mon Mar 17, 2014 2:35 pm

I think having Push and an APC is nice, but you could easily let the APC go for Push.

My 2cents
Live Suite 9 - MBPR 15 - NI Komplete Audio 6 - Push - Brain - Hands - Melodica

Danjc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:49 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Danjc » Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:29 pm

Again thanks for your replies. I ordered my push today it should be with me tomorrow and I got a free decksaver with it.
Can't wait :D

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Push or not ?

Post by login » Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:37 pm

For live performance the faders come handy, so i would reduce your set up to Push+ APC and wait for the new livid/dubspot mixer controller (and sell APC then to get it), that will compliment push nicely:

Image

Danjc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:49 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Danjc » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:48 pm

That looks just the job it will be interesting to see how much it costs !

Danjc
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:49 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by Danjc » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:44 pm

Well it's come and it's been unpacked and plugged in but the wife is dragging me out for the night now grrrrrrrrrr :cry:

clydesdale
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:28 am

Re: Push or not ?

Post by clydesdale » Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:53 pm

Once you're settled in, don't forget to take a look at adding PXT.
LIVE 9.1.7 x64, PUSH w/PXT, APC40, KEYSTATION PRO88, Radium61
Win8.1 Pro, 4820k(4.5GHz)/32GB/840ProSSD/RME Babyface

beatz01
Posts: 356
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:09 pm

Re: Push or not ?

Post by beatz01 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:20 pm

I think Push leads ppl to make mediocre music.Which is a good thing if before your music totally sucked.
In other news, i also think the pads are not sensitive enough.

Post Reply