-

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

-

Post by TomViolenz » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:30 pm

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

musikmachine
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:56 am

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by musikmachine » Wed Mar 26, 2014 10:41 pm

It's not super precise as it's 7bit but there's a 14bit update coming. I think it works better as a x/y controller for fx but i haven't tried it for anything like precise control.

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by TomViolenz » Thu Mar 27, 2014 2:02 pm

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

braduro
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:03 am

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by braduro » Fri Mar 28, 2014 4:45 pm

You could try the 2nd generation of KeithmcMillen's foot pad, but it's just like the quneo-the 2-axis are really considered for "tilting": it's more like you have a center and it's feeling the change of pressure as you rock around it.

I know the faderfox LV3 had a couple joysticks...

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by TomViolenz » Fri Mar 28, 2014 6:34 pm

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mister Natural
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:44 pm
Location: michigan

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by Mister Natural » Mon Mar 31, 2014 4:31 am

my Novation ReMote SL has both a finger trackpad and a joystick(albeit, the JS just runs pitch & mod). Not sure if the joystick can be modified to do midi commands . . .

best of luck
An Expert Only on What it Feels Like to be Me
& You Are Who You Google

http://soundcloud.com/mrnatural-1

beatz01
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 4:09 pm

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by beatz01 » Mon Mar 31, 2014 5:03 am

You could buy a bunch of Korg Nanopads (even V1 second hand ones) - they have an x/y pad plus you could use the drumpads for other stuff as well and they're cheap.

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by TomViolenz » Mon Mar 31, 2014 7:26 am

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dr_loop
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:15 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by dr_loop » Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:56 am

...why not use actual joypads? They are super cheap, and if you use a saw to cut off their 'horns' the can be arranged in a compact layout (Don't use the ones with 'rumble', they have the motor in the horns). Lots of buttons too. You need a usb-hub though, and some cabling, and some intermediary software too (available for free, don't remember its name).

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by TomViolenz » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:11 am

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

slatepipe
Posts: 1940
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: stoke newington in london
Contact:

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by slatepipe » Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:32 am

i got a quneo back last july and despite the fact i havent used it a great deal since then i have had a lot of fun with it using the pads - i mapped each pad to samples and the x-y to frequency using the auto filter. the pressure i mapped to volume. i find they work pretty well

i would say that the slider controls arent particularly sensitive though, but they're fine for me. the rotaries i havent used much yet

i like it as it's small and tough too

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by TomViolenz » Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:47 am

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

slatepipe
Posts: 1940
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: stoke newington in london
Contact:

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by slatepipe » Mon Mar 31, 2014 11:47 am

TomViolenz wrote: Is the x-y functionality even a continous parameter? The guy in the store said that it's basically just one pressure point in the middle and 4 in each corner, without anything in between. Is that true?!
hi, no that isnt true. by touching the pads and then rolling my finger around i can get the x to go through the whole frequency, and the y axis to go fully up and down when mapped to the Q

http://www.vimeo.com/72109668

TomViolenz
Posts: 6854
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:19 pm

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by TomViolenz » Mon Mar 31, 2014 1:20 pm

-
Last edited by TomViolenz on Tue Apr 22, 2014 9:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

slatepipe
Posts: 1940
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: stoke newington in london
Contact:

Re: QuNeo x-y pads

Post by slatepipe » Mon Mar 31, 2014 1:40 pm

TomViolenz wrote: Ah, that's good to know! Shows once again that store personal is mostly a useless source of information...
What happens after you lift your fingers?
Does it snap back to the starting value, or does it stay at the last value you touched at?!
it can do both, depending how you set it in the quneo editor. i think it is 'latch' or something.

Post Reply