"render in place"?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
jayemell
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:05 pm

"render in place"?

Post by jayemell » Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:55 am

is there such a thing as "render in place with rename" in the session view?
i'd like to have whatever processing occurring on a given clip and then render to disk with a new filename that i specify.
do i have to export for this?

i know of a long alternative, but it's a bit laborious:
1. record link to another audio track based on playing the clip in session view
2. play live with only that clip; will rec into other track
3. new clip takes name of track, now i would like to rename file (maybe the solution is to name the track what i'd like to see on disk? seems hacky)
4. show in browser
5. rename
6. show in finder
7. copy/paste/cut to destination in my personal sample lib

:?

thanks,
jml

clydesdale
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:28 am

Re: "render in place"?

Post by clydesdale » Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:14 am

export rendered track would work fine for this.

-or-

a shorter laborious version:

1. duplicate the track (ctrl-d)
2. freeze
3. flatten
4. right-click the clip and ->show in browser (to get the name)
5. right-click the clip and ->show in explorer (to get the file)

(optional) delete unwanted clips from the duplicated track to speed up the freeze.

also, if you do ->show in browser you can immediately hit ctrl-R to rename the file and then just drag-and-drop the file from the Live browser to where you want it, explorer or desktop or folder, etc.
LIVE 9.1.7 x64, PUSH w/PXT, APC40, KEYSTATION PRO88, Radium61
Win8.1 Pro, 4820k(4.5GHz)/32GB/840ProSSD/RME Babyface

jayemell
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:05 pm

Re: "render in place"?

Post by jayemell » Thu Apr 03, 2014 5:34 am

thanks man.
funny; i just called a friend and he suggested the same thing. fine minds think alike, you and him. ;)

garyboozy
Posts: 2576
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:27 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: "render in place"?

Post by garyboozy » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:55 am

easier:
- freeze track
- alt-drag to copy frozen audio to new audio track
- unfreeze track

mholloway
Posts: 1572
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Contact:

Re: "render in place"?

Post by mholloway » Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:44 pm

garyboozy wrote:easier:
- freeze track
- alt-drag to copy frozen audio to new audio track
- unfreeze track

This. I've tried all above methods, do this kind of thing daily, and this way is definitely the smoothest / fastest. Though Clydsedale's notes about right click > show in browser / finder(explorer) are very useful as well for keeping track of everything / moving stuff.
my industrial music made with Ableton Live (as DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER): https://deadwhenifoundher.bandcamp.com/
my dark jazz / noir music made with Ableton Live: https://michaelarthurholloway.bandcamp. ... guilt-noir

jayemell
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:05 pm

Re: "render in place"?

Post by jayemell » Thu Apr 03, 2014 4:55 pm

sick. thanks, garyboozy.

Post Reply