Live 9 Suite - How to block incoming program changes?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
dburns
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:04 am
Contact:

Live 9 Suite - How to block incoming program changes?

Post by dburns » Fri May 02, 2014 7:34 am

I have a set with four instances of WIVI Band. I do not want them to respond to incoming MIDI Program Changes.

Is there a way?

I'm using Live 9 Suite.

Thanks.
Dave Burns
Lowell, MA

More equipment than skill.

re:dream
Posts: 4549
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 9:42 am
Location: Hoerikwaggo's sunset side...
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Suite - How to block incoming program changes?

Post by re:dream » Fri May 02, 2014 9:07 am


dburns
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:04 am
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Suite - How to block incoming program changes?

Post by dburns » Fri May 02, 2014 11:47 am

Thanks dream, I found that thread in an earlier search. I tried the links to s-production and ndcmidi, but Live 9 didn't seem to register the vsts.

The chainer might work, but it seems like a complicated way to solve a very simple task. It would require loading four instruments into the chainer, then figure some way to switch among them during a live show. Maybe I could use the Korg nanoKontrol for that.

It's surprising to me that neither Ableton nor Max have a device to filter PCs.

I'm on Windows 7-64, running 32-bit Live 9, BTW.

I can use Bome's Translator, or maybe write one in Max, after some time spent learning how. Much simpler to drop a device provided by Live, though.

Thanks.
Dave Burns
Lowell, MA

More equipment than skill.

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Re: Live 9 Suite - How to block incoming program changes?

Post by peeddrroo » Fri May 02, 2014 12:02 pm

it's rather easy using m4l

check this thread.
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=195422

dburns
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2009 6:04 am
Contact:

Re: Live 9 Suite - How to block incoming program changes?

Post by dburns » Sat May 03, 2014 6:25 am

Thanks ppeeddrroo!

It took me a while to figure out how to get it working in m4l, but it works great!

It also gave me a peek at how powerful m4l is.

Thanks!
Dave Burns
Lowell, MA

More equipment than skill.

Post Reply