very odd prob with saving presets.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
JAMESHIFI
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 10:25 pm

very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by JAMESHIFI » Sat May 24, 2014 10:30 pm

sometimes (about 3 out of 5 times) when i try to save a preset in the user library i get the error ''Unknown file ID''

i have looked on line and i cant see anything about it. its like i seem to be the only person in the world to have had this prob.


any help??

thanks.

topaz
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by topaz » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:34 am

I also get this, any news ?
Complete Cycle, Contemporary Music for Film, TV, Media & Games.
http://www.completecycle.bandcamp.com

littlebigdrone
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by littlebigdrone » Fri Jul 11, 2014 4:31 pm

+1 seems to have started happening when going from Live8 to 9

topaz
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by topaz » Fri Jul 11, 2014 5:41 pm

reported to Ableton

they had no idea how to solve it.
littlebigdrone wrote:+1 seems to have started happening when going from Live8 to 9
Complete Cycle, Contemporary Music for Film, TV, Media & Games.
http://www.completecycle.bandcamp.com

oblique strategies
Posts: 3578
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by oblique strategies » Tue Sep 16, 2014 6:34 am

Just experienced it too.

Saving a preset for Apple's AUMatrixReverb.

Though I may have experienced it right after saving it, while I was trying to move it from the default location to a custom folder via Live's Browser. Not 100% sure either way -maybe Live was just slow to show the error.

The newly created preset was successfully saved, & it was successfully moved to the custom folder.

OS X 10.9.4 Mavericks
Live Suite 9.1.5b3
M4L 6.1.8

topaz wrote:reported to Ableton
they had no idea how to solve it.
Did they provide any info you can share?

topaz
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by topaz » Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:08 am

All I get is the old classic "update, reinstall, delete this"

None of which have solved the issue.

I kinda gave up. I don't think Ableton know how to fix this issue.
Complete Cycle, Contemporary Music for Film, TV, Media & Games.
http://www.completecycle.bandcamp.com

oblique strategies
Posts: 3578
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Another Green World

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by oblique strategies » Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:21 am

Thanks topaz for replying & sharing what you got from Ableton. Wish they had more for us. :(

topaz
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by topaz » Tue Sep 16, 2014 11:40 am

Ableton are playng the "it's not us it's you' card.

But I'm also able to reproduce on another computer so it's not me....definitely.
Complete Cycle, Contemporary Music for Film, TV, Media & Games.
http://www.completecycle.bandcamp.com

iamcluster12
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 12:39 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by iamcluster12 » Sun Nov 30, 2014 11:23 am

anybody found a solution to this? very annoying when I can't save my racks :(

topaz
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by topaz » Sun Nov 30, 2014 1:49 pm

No, but you should be able to save its just the anoyying message and a lag in saving them.

It does need to be fixed but not looking likely as Ableton seem to have given up trying to fix it :-(
Complete Cycle, Contemporary Music for Film, TV, Media & Games.
http://www.completecycle.bandcamp.com

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by Stromkraft » Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:11 pm

topaz wrote:Ableton are playng the "it's not us it's you' card.

But I'm also able to reproduce on another computer so it's not me....definitely.
So if it's not you, how can I reproduce this issue I've never encountered?
Make some music!

topaz
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by topaz » Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:16 pm

You can't because it's not happening for you, that doesn't mean it's not for the others in this thread.

Stromkraft wrote:
topaz wrote:Ableton are playng the "it's not us it's you' card.

But I'm also able to reproduce on another computer so it's not me....definitely.
So if it's not you, how can I reproduce this issue I've never encountered?
Complete Cycle, Contemporary Music for Film, TV, Media & Games.
http://www.completecycle.bandcamp.com

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by Stromkraft » Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:22 pm

Can any of you afflicted by this issue, please explain where this dialog is coming from? Is it OS X or in Live? Screen Dump?

Can you please also go to the Console app (In the Tools folder) and check what you have there with this error message filtered? It seems to me to be a file system error and not a Live error, but I'm not sure until I've reviewed the error messages more closely.
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets.

Post by Stromkraft » Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:26 pm

topaz wrote:You can't because it's not happening for you, that doesn't mean it's not for the others in this thread.

Stromkraft wrote:
topaz wrote:Ableton are playng the "it's not us it's you' card.

But I'm also able to reproduce on another computer so it's not me....definitely.
So if it's not you, how can I reproduce this issue I've never encountered?
That's totally beside the point. The interesting question is why this is happening. Can you please get me the error messages from Console?
Make some music!

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: very odd prob with saving presets. [Workaround]

Post by Stromkraft » Mon Dec 01, 2014 1:56 pm

Stromkraft wrote: Is it OS X or in Live? Screen Dump?

Can you please also go to the Console app (In the Tools folder) and check what you have there with this error message filtered? It seems to me to be a file system error and not a Live error, but I'm not sure until I've reviewed the error messages more closely.
I was able to reproduce this issue that happens when you save an Audio Effects Rack from Live (Something I usually don't do). It's Live that gives the "unknown file id" message. It's contraindicated in my case in Console with the message "
Live[96558]: BUG in libdispatch client: kevent[EVFILT_WRITE] delete: "No such file or directory" - 0x2
and also
Live[96558]: invalid drawable
libdispatch is related to "Grand Central Dispatch" in OS X. While this could be an issue with OS X 10.9.x it could also be Ableton did something here they can fix themselves. Let's hope this is the case.

I'm giving this to Ableton to fix in 9.1.7 hopefully. I haven't verified it in 9.1.7b2. Someone else? Just keep reporting stuff like this.

I also found a workaround: After the error occurs, click "ok", and then right away press "escape".
Make some music!

Post Reply