OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
brian-
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:06 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by brian- » Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:26 pm

Hey guys.

I've installed Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10 (14A299l).

Unfortl. Live! 9.1.3 isn't starting anymore. Reinstalling isn't working either.

Can someone confirm that 9.1.3 is working with OS X 10.10?

Thanks for letting me know!

:)

danielbiltmore
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by danielbiltmore » Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:38 pm

I installed Dev previews 1, 2, 3, and the public beta, and was unable to get Ableton Live to work on my mac (late 2012 macbook pro). Just plain wouldn't open up. I had to go back to Mavericks, but have since installed Live 9.1.4. I'm curious to see if 9.1.4 works with Yosemite, but I don't know if I have the guts to try it out after all the trouble it's caused me.

brian-
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:06 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by brian- » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:43 pm

Not sure if this is helping, but Live! 9.1.4 seems to running normally with Yosemite 10.10 DP3.

But I haven't made a in-deep test yet. Just installing and starting. :oops:

cabletone
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:55 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by cabletone » Sat Jul 26, 2014 3:13 pm

brian- wrote:Not sure if this is helping, but Live! 9.1.4 seems to running normally with Yosemite 10.10 DP3.

But I haven't made a in-deep test yet. Just installing and starting. :oops:
Please let us know how it goes! Thanks

brian-
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:06 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by brian- » Sat Jul 26, 2014 6:58 pm

Seems to work normally. Although for me. Looks good. Especially with the Yosemite Dark-Mode enabled. I can play, edit and mix music as usually. My Allen & Heath Xone K2 works without problems. My Midi-Mappings are still there.

But only M4L still seems to have problems. To work with M4L you need to have an updated Java version. And Java isn't yet Yosemite ready.

8)

EDIT
Just in case you wanna try it, Oracle has already release a version for Yosemite 10.10. It isn't a official one. More like a stable-beta-test-release.

Here you go: JDK 8u20 Early Access Releases — Project Kenai - http://goo.gl/bxsvx

danielbiltmore
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by danielbiltmore » Sun Jul 27, 2014 5:15 pm

thanks! i might actually give this a shot (for the 3rd time)...however I am still scared a restore is in my future...

danielbiltmore
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by danielbiltmore » Sun Jul 27, 2014 7:57 pm

So...gave it another shot, this time with 9.1.4 and yosemite...and had the same problem. Live icon bounces once and then won't open.

Guess it's working with some machines but not all.

Back to time machine restore...

brian-
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 8:06 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by brian- » Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:11 am

Sorry to hear that!

Ya. That's how it is with beta-stuff isn't?! Maybe next time.

8)

turnitto11
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 6:35 am

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by turnitto11 » Mon Jul 28, 2014 6:44 pm

10.10 public beta opens Live and runs stuff for me just fine on an early 2011 MBP. Don't have any of my plugins or samples on this machine, though, so I haven't tested it with bigger project yet
MacBook Pro (13", 2.7ghz i7, 16gb, 10.9), Suite 9

Eularian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 7:16 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by Eularian » Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:07 pm

Hello everybody. Just wanted to sound off and say that Ableton 9 did launch and open projects in the 10.10 beta. HOWEVER, even though it opened, several of my VST's lost their presets. Many instruments were just on the 'default' or 'init' patch. I know I should save my presets and all, but have never needed to worry about that. So yes it launched, but with some adverse side-effects to some VST's. In particular Alchemy and Synth Squad. Hope this is useful. 2012 rmpb.

[rry]
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:09 pm
Location: Ableton HQ

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by [rry] » Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:00 pm

Hi All,

We do not recommend updating to Yosemite just yet. Our developers are working to ensure compatibility for the time of release, but as you can see from the reports here, there are things that need to be addressed from both sides.

Thanks for your understanding.
https://www.ableton.com/en/articles/yos ... patibilty/

Best,

Rory

Ableton Support

vondersulzburg
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:59 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by vondersulzburg » Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:22 pm

until now no problems. WaveDna needs to install java fo maveriks.

dune2 no problems
reaktor no problems
zebralett. podolski no problems....

aphex2000
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:22 am

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by aphex2000 » Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:26 am

brookstalley wrote:After removing files.db and having Ableton scan for packs, I have a fully populated packs list in the browser. No luck with instruments, audio effects, etc.
same issue here, installed live freshly on a new rMBP that i updated to yosemite immediately. browser for instruments, sounds, effects just doesnt populate even though all packs installed fine.

workaround: everything is accessible through the packs, just check the the "core pack" (or similar) where you at least can find the included instruments & effects.

i hope there will be a workaround/update that lets us repopulate everything once fixed instead of having to re-install it once again.

vondersulzburg
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 9:59 pm

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by vondersulzburg » Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:09 pm

I have to correct me. When Live is running I have no issues. But in 3 from 4 times live starts and ends with the spinning wheel for ever and has to be closed via dock.

Hey Ableton come on. LogicProX, StudioOne V2.7.???, BITWIG !!!! 8O no isues, Cubase no Issues. Tested all very often

silicon1138
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 10:02 pm
Location: paris
Contact:

Re: OS X YOSEMITE compatibility with Live 9

Post by silicon1138 » Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:01 am

I've had Live 9.14 running in Yosemite on my Macbook Air, all appeared to be running really well but i cannot get my Places to show any of my sample folders. I've tried deleting the indexing db, reinstalling live, deleting every single file associated with Live, but still nothing, no scanning, nothing.
Carl Finlow aka - Random Factor / Voice Stealer / Silicon Scally / Il.Ek.Tro / Scarletron...
OSX 10.13, Quad Core Mac Mini, Live 10 Suite.

Post Reply