Workflow with Octatrack & Ableton resampling

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Ben_Binary
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 2:08 pm
Location: Australia

Workflow with Octatrack & Ableton resampling

Post by Ben_Binary » Sat Jul 05, 2014 5:51 am

I just got an Octatrack and was wondering if anyone using it for an addition to Ableton for resampling and mangling stuff.

Any suggestions about workflow would be interesting

Cheers
B
soundcloud Live 9 & Push / Reaper / Octatrack / Rytm / MicroBrute / Nord Modular G1 & G2 / Waldorf Rack Attack / Juno 60 / Monotron & Duo / SeratoDJ / Komplete 9 / OhmForce

GUY SMILEY
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:35 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Workflow with Octatrack & Ableton resampling

Post by GUY SMILEY » Sat Jul 05, 2014 7:20 pm

Personally the Octatrack has enabled me (on occasion) to turn off Ableton completely and produce tracks without looking at a computer screen..
Once written, Ableton is great as a 'tape machine' to record and then mix down.
That simple for me. If I use it with Ableton, I'll generally use the Octatrack as the master track, as I really like it's midi sequencer and will have that running more lines than the Ableton sequencer.

Ben_Binary
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 2:08 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Workflow with Octatrack & Ableton resampling

Post by Ben_Binary » Sun Jul 06, 2014 8:24 am

Yeah thats also exactly how im using it atm. OTB is nice and refreshing with being immediate

I guess using them to bounce and edit are the best of both worlds!
soundcloud Live 9 & Push / Reaper / Octatrack / Rytm / MicroBrute / Nord Modular G1 & G2 / Waldorf Rack Attack / Juno 60 / Monotron & Duo / SeratoDJ / Komplete 9 / OhmForce

Post Reply