TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Adonis
Posts: 541
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 3:47 pm
Location: Seattle

TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by Adonis » Tue Jul 22, 2014 2:39 am

I'm using the TR-8 as an audio interface. Unfortunately, I'm hearing the main outs of the TR-8 and the direct inputs from Ableton. So the sound is doubled, yet slightly off due to latency.

Other than turning off the mains from the TR-8, how do I not hear the main outs from the TR-8 and just what's coming out of Ableton.

I'm using a MAC.

Thanks,
Ad

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by djadonis206 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 2:27 am

Anyone?
Ableton | Elektron

Music

Syver
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 10:46 am

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by Syver » Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:17 am

Screenshots ?

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by djadonis206 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:18 pm

Thanks for the reply but this isn't really an issue that can be illustrated graphically. I'm simultaneously hearing two things, the TR-8 and what's coming out of Ableton.

The TR-8 is suppose to be a drum machine and audio interface. I assume this means when I run the TR-8 drums through Ableton, I should only hear what's going in and out of Ableton. Unfortunately, I hear what's coming out of Ableton and what's coming from the hardware. So I hear the drums at the same time, just slightly off due to latency.

This person has the same issue and there's a work around. But I'm curious if there's something I'm missing.

https://www.ableton.com/answers/roland- ... -interface

Thanks
Ad
Ableton | Elektron

Music

Dragonbreath
Posts: 561
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:34 am

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by Dragonbreath » Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:17 pm

I know nothing on the TR-8 but im pretty sure your issue is with the tr-8 and not ableton. Im thinking their must be someking of routing options for the tr-8 and you would have to turn off direct monitoring to the ouputs or something along those lines. Maybe ask in the Rollan forums and refer to user manual for the tr-8

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by djadonis206 » Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:14 pm

Thanks for the reply - check and check on both your points. I was hoping someone using the TR-8 as an audio interface with Ableton had figured this out. The info on this issue is quite scarse. It's like no one else is experiencing this issue other than me and the guy who posted in the link above.

Curious what I could be missing.
Ableton | Elektron

Music

fishmonkey
Posts: 4093
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by fishmonkey » Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:18 am

you are wanting to monitor sounds that the TR-8 is generating via Live, right? i don't think that is possible if you are using the TR-8 as your audio interface, as you can't tell it not to also output directly to its own hardware outputs.

since your on a Mac, the workaround would be to use another audio interface and to create an aggregate audio device:

http://www.rolandus.com/support/knowled ... w/58488116
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by djadonis206 » Fri Jul 25, 2014 12:58 am

You got it - thanks for your help. I'll need to hook up another soundcard, I'm ok with that. Seems like a major oversight on Roland's part though.
Ableton | Elektron

Music

Machinesworking
Posts: 11098
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by Machinesworking » Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:56 am

IMO it sounds to me like you have direct monitoring turned on, on the TR8.
I'm assuming you've got it hooked up to the computer with the USB, then audio out from the TR8?
A good amount of sound cards let you monitor the incoming signal from the input so you have zero latency.

Likely, the TR8 is automatically set to monitoring it's own input because then there's zero latency. if you don't have tracks for TR8 sounds in Ableton can you hear the TR8? and is it doubled?

fishmonkey
Posts: 4093
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by fishmonkey » Fri Jul 25, 2014 3:09 am

i think the issue is that Roland haven't made it possible to tell the TR-8 not to monitor itself...
badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

Machinesworking
Posts: 11098
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by Machinesworking » Sat Jul 26, 2014 12:52 am

fishmonkey wrote:i think the issue is that Roland haven't made it possible to tell the TR-8 not to monitor itself...
In that case then the solution is to not set up tracks in Live for the TR8, or to at least mute those tracks. This of course sucks, but it's better than doubled drums. :?

Kibosh
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 2:09 pm

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by Kibosh » Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:04 am

There is a new firmware version for the TR-8. Don't know yet what is changed

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Re: TR-8 and Ableton...monitoring issue

Post by djadonis206 » Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:44 pm

Thanks, K

Some fun new features but this issue of monitoring was not addressed. Bummer, kind of.
Ableton | Elektron

Music

Post Reply