Digital mixer with Ableton, good or bad idea

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Kibosh

Digital mixer with Ableton, good or bad idea

Post by Kibosh » Sat Jul 26, 2014 7:38 am

Hey all,

As a dayjob I'm a programmer for industrial automation systems (it's not PC programming) and that means sitting behind a laptop all day. At home, more often I feel not making music, just because I would be holding that mouse again and gaze at a PC screen. Also with a mouse, you can only do one thing at a time, I have two hands with still all fingers: I want knobs!

So at the end of last year I decided I wanted more hands-on and bought myself my first hardware synth, the Nord-Lead 4R. Because I loved this aproach so much, I also bought the Roland ARIA TB-3 and TR-8. It just much more fun for me to have all those dedicated knobs. And for me that's the magic word: "Dedicated knobs"!

So here I am, my audio interface with 8 inputs is now too small. I need to expand.

This are my options:
  • A: Expand my current Steinberg UR824 with a Focusrite OctoPre through ADAT for another 8 channels and try to find a good DAW mixer / controller, but I haven't found one yet and have serious doubts it exists.
  • B: Get a digital mixer like the Behringer X32 Producer and have 32 channels where Ableton would become insert points.
Option A
For now it's the cheapest solution, but I also want to have hands-on when mixing. I've been looking at those DAW Controllers, but for some reason they are almost always the same. Eight sliders, some push buttons above it and one rotary knob for each channel. For me, they are useless. There is the Softube Console 1 which is a channel strip. Great idea but it uses it's own plugins and more important, it has no faders.

I also have Ableton Push, it's great for creating all the clips, control some parameters and stuff, but to much menu diving when mixing.