Page 1 of 1

Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:28 am
by chapelier fou
Hi
i am working with a band using an apc 40. Is there a way to get rid of the blue hand ? it's somehow confusing.
ideally it would be device specific.
As a workaround i drop an empty audio effect rack as the first device but that's not very elegant.
thanks !

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:10 pm
by 8O
If you're not using the instant mapping feature, can't you just disable it for all control surfaces in Live's MIDI preferences?

You can still do manual MIDI mapping without the instant mapping.

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:22 pm
by yur2die4
I think he still wants the clip launcher.

Actually, I think some of the hanz Petrov scripts had a functionality where you could change the function of each 'section' of the 40's controls. But I think it mostly only focused on faders and sends :/. I think he left device control completely alone

Another option might be a max device that completely grabs the apc?? It'd be interesting to have one that simply deactivates sections based on user input

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:34 pm
by S4racen
The APC40 is a bit of a challenge to disable, it doesn't have the grab and release functionality of say the Push or the MKII...

It can be done though, you just need to be careful with the shift button though as it generally flushes the control surface and reintialises the controls...

I turn them off and then divert all 16 encoders to control different banks of parameters instead, that way the blue hand doesn't really matter....

Cheers
D

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:37 pm
by Timbeaux
try to read here, I think it should help:

https://www.ableton.com/answers/control ... -blue-hand

and for deeper investigation:

http://forum.lividinstruments.com/discu ... -in-live-9

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:53 pm
by chapelier fou
Hum...thanks !
we'll stick to the dummy rack for now...

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:23 pm
by Timbeaux
or maybe just remap the knobs u dont want to get affected by bluehand

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:38 pm
by chapelier fou
true as well

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Tue Nov 25, 2014 6:41 pm
by Steve Glen
Have you tried "lock device to..." you only need one and it can be on any track. Right clixk om thr title bar.

Re: Get rid of the blue hand ?

Posted: Sat May 21, 2016 4:08 pm
by stefan.o
I haven't an APC40, but I encountered this problem with an Arturia MiniLab. I'm assuming you just want the blue hand to disappear altogether and that you don't want to mince with scripts. Simple solution:

(1) Go to Live >Preferences and select the Link MIDI tab. In the MIDI section there are three columns headed 'Control Surface,' 'Input' and 'Output,' each with six boxes beneath it containing drop down arrows. Make sure your device is not selected in any of those boxes (if it is, you can replace it with the 'None' option).

(2) In the same Link MIDI tab there is a MIDI ports section with 'Track,' 'Sync' and 'Remote' buttons. Make sure both the track and remote buttons are activated for your device in that list, both against 'Input' and 'Output'.

I was using Live version 9.6.1.