touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by login » Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:37 pm

@Le K: by the way do you have any plans to bring some kind of control over the drum rack mixer in the future? Volume, sends, mutes, solo would be very welcome.

Chris / touchAble
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:27 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by Chris / touchAble » Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:50 pm

Yes! A drum rack template is in the works - it will work a bit differently internally, but it will allow mixer access for the drum rack :)

S4racen
Posts: 5217
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by S4racen » Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:29 pm

I've had a week or so of playing and this is by far the best iPad app i have!

Cheers
D

scientist
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 2:06 am
Location: seattle

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by scientist » Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:30 pm

since this seems to be the right place for touchable QandA...

1. is there a template for just the rack macro pane? i.e. just eight knobs.

2. will the templates eventually work on iphone as well, or are they only for ipad?

thanks in advance!

john gordon
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 12:24 am
Location: Delaware

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by john gordon » Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:38 pm

Are the templates out yet?

Chris / touchAble
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:27 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by Chris / touchAble » Fri Dec 05, 2014 8:41 pm

scientist wrote:since this seems to be the right place for touchable QandA...

1. is there a template for just the rack macro pane? i.e. just eight knobs.

2. will the templates eventually work on iphone as well, or are they only for ipad?

thanks in advance!
1. Yes: you'll have faders instead of knobs - but the 8 macros are easily accessible!

2. Yes again! :) We will have to change a few of the templates to fit the smaller screen, but we're already working on it and they will come in the not so distant future! Also, if you purchased the templates on the iPad, you will not have to purchase them again when using Mini.

John: out and available after updating to version3!

john gordon
Posts: 2680
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 12:24 am
Location: Delaware

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by john gordon » Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:27 pm

Great. I'll be buying today.

phakju
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:35 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by phakju » Sat Dec 06, 2014 8:06 pm

Guys ... a really cool tool and great companion for PUSH ... thanks for that :)

Does touchable also work via cable, if my iPad is connected to a class compliant midi interface?

This would allow a rather lean & stable, cause wifi-independent setup. With only two USB devices connected to my MacBook: Push & iConnectMIDI4+. And ALL my input devices (incl. iPad) plus external gear connected to latter.

I just hope I do not have to switch plugs to either use touchAble or f.e. Lemur.

WIFI is as well no workaround for me as a second iPad ;)
MacBookPro, OSX 10.11.4, Ableton 9.6.2b, Max 7.2.1 both 64bit

Le k
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by Le k » Sat Dec 06, 2014 9:02 pm

login wrote:@Le K: by the way do you have any plans to bring some kind of control over the drum rack mixer in the future? Volume, sends, mutes, solo would be very welcome.
I'm like you, I need that!
TouchAble App - IOS controller for Ableton Live
http://www.touch-able.com

Sylvain Garcia / Le K Ableton Certified trainer
http://www.ableton.com/pages/education/ ... ain_garcia
http://www.le-k.org

Image

Le k
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:34 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by Le k » Sat Dec 06, 2014 9:07 pm

phakju wrote:Guys ... a really cool tool and great companion for PUSH ... thanks for that :)

Does touchable also work via cable, if my iPad is connected to a class compliant midi interface?

This would allow a rather lean & stable, cause wifi-independent setup. With only two USB devices connected to my MacBook: Push & iConnectMIDI4+. And ALL my input devices (incl. iPad) plus external gear connected to latter.

I just hope I do not have to switch plugs to either use touchAble or f.e. Lemur.

WIFI is as well no workaround for me as a second iPad ;)
From what I know you can only have one 1 thing connected via the USB/pin port of the iPad. But I'm pretty sure there is a way to have multiple things connected, I haven't had time to test it yet, so if someone has a clue about that, please share your experience.
:)
TouchAble App - IOS controller for Ableton Live
http://www.touch-able.com

Sylvain Garcia / Le K Ableton Certified trainer
http://www.ableton.com/pages/education/ ... ain_garcia
http://www.le-k.org

Image

phakju
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:35 am

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by phakju » Sat Dec 06, 2014 9:14 pm

Hi Le K, the simple single answer I need is whether or not touchable works cabled via a class compliant midi interface. If so ... everything should work just fine, if not, I would have to switch cables, which would be kind of pity :)
MacBookPro, OSX 10.11.4, Ableton 9.6.2b, Max 7.2.1 both 64bit

Captain Johnson
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 12:03 am
Location: Liverpool
Contact:

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by Captain Johnson » Sun Dec 07, 2014 12:08 pm

Works like a charm on live 9.1.4, osx snow leopard and iOS 6 :)

Super uber job guys gonna treat myself to template pack.
This app combined with push is amazing!

Would love to see you do templates for max for live stuff…

Boss!

Willyum
Posts: 1194
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 6:17 am
Location: Jamaica, Queens

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by Willyum » Sun Dec 07, 2014 12:49 pm

Never liked Apple/Mac... Looking forward to an Android release. (I know Android Audio apps have latency issues, but I'm hoping the controllers don't)

yur2die4
Posts: 6421
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:02 am
Location: Menasha, Wisconsin
Contact:

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by yur2die4 » Sun Dec 07, 2014 1:05 pm

phakju wrote:Hi Le K, the simple single answer I need is whether or not touchable works cabled via a class compliant midi interface. If so ... everything should work just fine, if not, I would have to switch cables, which would be kind of pity :)
Touchable 3 functionality uses no midi into Live at all. So yeah, it'll be tricky to use in combination with a midi port.

There is the Lightning port, and then there is class compliant midi through usb via Lightning. And then there is the all which transmits non-data through a port.

So now I'm wondering, are there Lightning Hubs, and what are their limitations? :D
My ultimate dream is a rechargeable USB hub! Then I can connect several devices with no outlet, without having power issues :twisted:

mrweasel
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:30 pm

Re: touchAble 3 is out! Now connects via simple USB cable & more

Post by mrweasel » Sun Dec 07, 2014 5:03 pm

Could one use the Iconnectmidi to that purpose?
I had been wondering about that.
It would be great to be able to charge the ipad while it is plugged via USB to the Iconnectmidi and use touchable + other apps at the same time.
Iconnectmidi4 also has Audiopassthrough, which is great

Post Reply