Yamaha RM1X :)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Karlozfandango
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:48 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by Karlozfandango » Mon Dec 08, 2014 7:56 pm

Hello
A decade after my studio was burgled i have started to build up a bit of kit.
Got a Yamaha RM1X for cheap and am rediscovering the joys of MIDI again.

So Much Fun.

:D

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by Timbeaux » Tue Dec 09, 2014 6:51 am

I have had one, too. But I struggled with the point, that you have to stop playback to record midi. For me it is a pita, cause I am a lazy person.

Anayways have fun, it is really great for sequencing.

btw, do you have the usb version?

doghouse
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by doghouse » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:27 pm

USB version? First I've ever heard of an RM1X with USB.

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by Timbeaux » Wed Dec 10, 2014 6:55 am

may you have a look here

Image


there is a detailed info about modding your rm1x in a yahoo group called rm1x

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by Airyck » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:11 pm

I have one too, it's great for performing as you can jump around sequences really easily and do lots of neat MIDI FX. The thing I found was it's better to record in something else that lets you record without having to stop playback then copy the MIDI files to the RM1x.
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

doghouse
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by doghouse » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:28 pm

That's just a floppy drive replacement, I thought you were talking about a factory version with a USB port.

GUY SMILEY
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 2:35 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by GUY SMILEY » Wed Dec 10, 2014 6:17 pm

o bought one recently. they're great fun.

and TIGHT

Airyck
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:54 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by Airyck » Wed Dec 10, 2014 6:46 pm

I wouldn't see the need for the USB port, the sequence data fits fine on a floppy disk and you can still buy new floppy disks(yes they still make them) and a usb floppy drive for your computer.
http://www.soundcloud.com/airyck-sterrett
Ableton Live 10 Suite / Push 2 / Max 7 & 8 /
2016 Macbook Pro 15"
Too much hardware to list

irrelevance
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by irrelevance » Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:13 pm

Solid unit for sure. By the time I bought one second hand the rs7000 was already out. I upgraded to that as soon as I could afford. True x0x sequencing with led feedback made a huge difference, but that unit was too clunky and plastic for my liking, plus having to think in numbers and and navigate yamaha's love for deep menus (why most over powered under sold/utilized yamaha products go for cheap imo, fs1r, sy77, rs7000, a5000 etc) did my head in.

Rm1X and a hardware synth = (to quote J morrison) "Back in those days everything was simpler and more confused"...

irrelevance
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 7:31 pm

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by irrelevance » Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:20 pm

robbery sucks btw :evil:

Timbeaux
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:47 am

Re: Yamaha RM1X :)

Post by Timbeaux » Thu Dec 11, 2014 6:45 am

sry, should have said, that i talked about a mod.

I sold mine when I got bored by it.

Post Reply