Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
spookje88
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:43 pm

Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by spookje88 » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:44 pm

Hi guys,

Because I am working on some music with other musicians they asked me to transpose my song from the existing key (which is F) to C which is a little bit easier for them to work with.
I agreed and could transpose everything by changing midi notes except the vocal I used and after some research I ended up with a Melodyne editor trial.

Now I have a little bit of a problem because I noticed that the quality of the sound is getting quit bad while I only transpose most notes 3,5 steps and I can't really believe that a plugin like Melodyne wouldn't be able to process it better since it is made for transposing and altering melodies right?

I have rendered the 30 seconds of transposed and not transposed (which means with and without Melodyne) and uploaded it on soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/casparvdbrink/se ... ut/s-u4ok5

I have searched the preferences for something like quality or a memory availability switch but haven't found anything.
Please help me out!!

Thanks in advance :D
Caspar

doghouse
Posts: 1451
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:30 pm

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by doghouse » Thu Jan 08, 2015 6:24 pm

All pitch shifters have trouble with moving things a fifth (which is what you are asking it to do). Melodyne is the best one I have ever heard and I own it, but there are still limits.

Go through the tutorial videos at the Celemony site, the default settings do not always yield the best results (doh).

stringtapper
Posts: 6285
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by stringtapper » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:19 pm

doghouse wrote:All pitch shifters have trouble with moving things a fifth.
What are you saying here? That there's something in particular about a fifth or that larger intervals in general will give the algorithm more trouble?
Unsound Designer

Angstrom
Posts: 14755
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by Angstrom » Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:18 pm

If you are transposing down a fifth you could try Complex Pro. Unless you are shifting modes you don't really need to use Melodyne. A transpose which keeps the pitch relationships should be well within the capabilities of Complex Pro.

Moosebear
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:46 pm

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by Moosebear » Thu Jan 08, 2015 10:45 pm

Yeah a fifth is a big interval, you're going to get artifacts and weirdness. You can usually go only a couple steps in Melodyne without it starting to change the sound. For harmonies it doesn't matter so much, but for a vocal lead...

The other thing you can try is playing with the Formant: select all your notes and try moving it up or down, it may help. Typically move it down if you are transposing downward.

stringtapper
Posts: 6285
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:21 pm

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by stringtapper » Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:04 pm

Just remember that transposing up a perfect fifth and transposing down a perfect fourth both give you the same key (F up a P5 to C, F down a P4 to C). Different octave, but same key.
Unsound Designer

ian_halsall
Posts: 1711
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 8:52 am
Location: South London
Contact:

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by ian_halsall » Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:21 am

use kontakt

fishmonkey
Posts: 4235
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:50 am

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by fishmonkey » Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:48 am

badbrainz wrote: I'm a drummer, so I'm already at an intellectual disadvantage here

mrdelurk
Posts: 468
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:45 am
Location: Pahoa
Contact:

Re: Question about Melodyne quality while transposing.

Post by mrdelurk » Fri Jan 09, 2015 8:32 am

fishmonkey wrote:Ircam TS can be very transparent
Ever since I checked Ircam's demo, I can't shake the feeling that it's the algorithm used in Live's Complex Pro warp mode. :)

Post Reply