Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
junqueira
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:02 am
Contact:

Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by junqueira » Wed Apr 01, 2015 3:44 am

I've seen a couple options for looping on the fly, but I was wondering, is there anything else out there? I've seen this: http://isotonikstudios.com/modular-series-looper/ but I don't have Max4Live and don't plan on spending the money to get it. Cliphx is too confusing.

Is there another 3rd party plug in out there (preferably for free) or can you trigger this effect through dummy clips somehow? Thanks for your input!

xmonsta
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:44 pm

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by xmonsta » Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:16 am

Max 4 Live is free if you have live 9
http://www.xmonsta.com Music devices and controllers for Ableton Live

Image

S4racen
Posts: 5238
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by S4racen » Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:54 am

Set the Gloabl Quantize to the size of loop you want to set and then map the Loop Start and End Set buttons to the same button on your controller....

You can only set the loop on the clip in focus however, you'll need Maxforlive for the rest...

I've built looping into the Isotonik APC40 MKII template when you do upgrade....

http://isotonikstudios.com/isotonik-apc40-mkii/

Cheers
D

junqueira
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:02 am
Contact:

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by junqueira » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:44 pm

xmonsta wrote:Max 4 Live is free if you have live 9
Oh nice! haha, what else have i been missing out on?

junqueira
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:02 am
Contact:

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by junqueira » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:45 pm

S4racen wrote:Set the Gloabl Quantize to the size of loop you want to set and then map the Loop Start and End Set buttons to the same button on your controller....

You can only set the loop on the clip in focus however, you'll need Maxforlive for the rest...

I've built looping into the Isotonik APC40 MKII template when you do upgrade....

http://isotonikstudios.com/isotonik-apc40-mkii/

Cheers
D
Is there a video tutorial on this somewhere? Thanks for the info!

c33
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:18 pm

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by c33 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:52 pm

junqueira wrote:
xmonsta wrote:Max 4 Live is free if you have live 9
Oh nice! haha, what else have i been missing out on?

It's included in the Suite version - not Live 9 Standard.

S4racen
Posts: 5238
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by S4racen » Wed Apr 01, 2015 1:20 pm

junqueira wrote:
S4racen wrote:Set the Gloabl Quantize to the size of loop you want to set and then map the Loop Start and End Set buttons to the same button on your controller....

You can only set the loop on the clip in focus however, you'll need Maxforlive for the rest...

I've built looping into the Isotonik APC40 MKII template when you do upgrade....

http://isotonikstudios.com/isotonik-apc40-mkii/

Cheers
D
Is there a video tutorial on this somewhere? Thanks for the info!
On MIDI Mapping or on the Isotonik template...? The Live manual for the first, the tiles on the left hand side of the page for the second...

Cheers
D

junqueira
Posts: 287
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 6:02 am
Contact:

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by junqueira » Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:26 pm

S4racen wrote:
junqueira wrote:
S4racen wrote:Set the Gloabl Quantize to the size of loop you want to set and then map the Loop Start and End Set buttons to the same button on your controller....

You can only set the loop on the clip in focus however, you'll need Maxforlive for the rest...

I've built looping into the Isotonik APC40 MKII template when you do upgrade....

http://isotonikstudios.com/isotonik-apc40-mkii/

Cheers
D
Is there a video tutorial on this somewhere? Thanks for the info!
On MIDI Mapping or on the Isotonik template...? The Live manual for the first, the tiles on the left hand side of the page for the second...

Cheers
D
i see thanks man

19oclock
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:40 pm

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by 19oclock » Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:13 pm

I have a template with native looping for free, but it also requires M4L. It can be downloaded from this page: http://drewreges.com/?page_id=12 .

S4racen
Posts: 5238
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by S4racen » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:08 pm

19oclock wrote:I have a template with native looping for free, but it also requires M4L. It can be downloaded from this page: http://drewreges.com/?page_id=12 .
Yeah but can it do DJ Hot Cues and Seratos Slicer Effect ;-)

Cheers
D

19oclock
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:40 pm

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by 19oclock » Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:05 pm

Never got into slicer effects, so probably not gonna roll that into it. Cue points are in the works but my work schedule is pretty insane right now. Still gigging hard with the template as is.

S4racen
Posts: 5238
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Looping On The Fly; Traktor and Serrato using APC40 mkII

Post by S4racen » Thu Apr 02, 2015 8:14 am

19oclock wrote:Never got into slicer effects, so probably not gonna roll that into it. Cue points are in the works but my work schedule is pretty insane right now. Still gigging hard with the template as is.
Cool, it's probably the final feature that DJ's are missing with Live, yeah you can cut things up in advance but not on the fly...

Cheers
D

Post Reply