Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Elevated01
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Elevated01 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 8:01 pm

Anyone have ideas or workarounds to do this? I searched & found a few topics, but they were geared towards live performance. What I'm looking for is a way to flip through all my ready-made instrument rack presets, via one button on my midi controller. (currently using Akai mpk225).

My background is using a workstation keyboard for sounds (Korg Triton Extreme). So I'm used to being able to hit one button on my keyboard to surf through my presets while composing. My Triton is long-gone and I'm a happy Ableton user, but would LOVE to be able to recreate this fast/easy preset switching functionality. Anyone?? xoxo
Last edited by Elevated01 on Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Quez
Posts: 142
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 5:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Quez » Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:25 pm

I'd like to know this as well.
I can surf patches from Reason with the Axiom 2nd Gen, but it doesn't work in Ableton. Devices in Reason have a "browsing" function with an up/down selector, but not Ableton ones.

login
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:41 am

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by login » Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:13 am

Ableton instruments can't do that, the closest you can getnis you engage the hot swap functinality and use your computer keyboard to change presets.

However third party plug ins which accept MIDI program change messages can be configured to do it.

Matt_Quinn
Posts: 512
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Matt_Quinn » Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:52 am

You can do it easily with a knob, not sure about a button though. Make an instrument rack with a chain for each preset, the open up the chain selection zone editor. Use the 'distribute range evenly' command to split each preset chain into it's own zone. Map the chain selector to a macro, and you can scroll through the presets one at a time.
the_planet wrote:Trap music is not supported in the current version.

Jekblad
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:02 am
Contact:

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Jekblad » Mon Apr 06, 2015 8:48 pm

Matt_Quinn wrote:You can do it easily with a knob, not sure about a button though. Make an instrument rack with a chain for each preset, the open up the chain selection zone editor. Use the 'distribute range evenly' command to split each preset chain into it's own zone. Map the chain selector to a macro, and you can scroll through the presets one at a time.
Yeahhhhh this is not so good for preset surfing unless you want to drag over 128 different presets to start surfing with. It's not so great for live performance as you can get stuck notes.

If you're just switching between a few this is the best solution though... don't forget to map the on/off switch as well and save a lil cpu.
2.4 ghz Macbook Pro 8gb RAM, SSD, Live 9 Suite, Puremagnetik, Minimal Talent

Matt_Quinn
Posts: 512
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Matt_Quinn » Tue Apr 07, 2015 3:06 pm

Works fine for me, not sure what your problem with the method is. I guess if you need more than 128 presets it might be an issue.
the_planet wrote:Trap music is not supported in the current version.

Elevated01
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Elevated01 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 7:03 pm

Thank you everyone! Matt, I'm familiar with the 128 device rack trick. I'm looking a system that requires less setup / maintenance than this. (Although I may resort to it)

My dude Lenny Kaiser suggested this, which is very cool but not exactly what I'm looking for either:
http://www.maxforlive.com/library/devic ... ram-change

I'm starting to think the functionality I want is something which would have to be built into Live itself. Basically to midi control the device hot-swapping feature.

caustik
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:06 am

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by caustik » Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:12 am

I had to create my own VST plugin to do this. I guess it's similar to what you've linked above, except also supports Bank and Sub-bank and doesn't require Max.

http://blog.caustik.com/2015/04/08/vst- ... m-changes/

If you give more details about how this could work better, I'll improve it.

Elevated01
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Elevated01 » Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:56 am

Amazing work caustik, it looks like you've made something similar but without needing M4L!

What i'm looking for is a device which can flip through my saved instrument racks, in the order they're in within the Live browser. Is this possible, maybe with M4L?

Thank you for chiming in.

caustik
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2007 11:06 am

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by caustik » Thu Apr 09, 2015 11:18 pm

Elevated01 wrote:Amazing work caustik, it looks like you've made something similar but without needing M4L!

What i'm looking for is a device which can flip through my saved instrument racks, in the order they're in within the Live browser. Is this possible, maybe with M4L?

Thank you for chiming in.
I haven't done any M4L programming, but from what I can see it doesn't look like the file browser is accessible from M4L or the JS API.

It's also not accessible from VST, so currently I don't see an easy way to do what you want :(

Elevated01
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Re: Surfing thru Ableton instrument Presets via midi controller

Post by Elevated01 » Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:27 pm

Got it, thanks for the info. I suppose I shall send the Abes a feature request :) I've heard that Live 10 is on the way...

Post Reply