Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Matt_Quinn
Posts: 517
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 pm

Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Post by Matt_Quinn » Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:58 pm

Random question: as I've started to add more and more external gear to my setup, I'm running into occasional MIDI weirdness (ie a random synth fires a note, some notes get stuck on, turning a knob on the Moog makes some random parameter on the Virus change). Is the best practice to assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel exclusively to prevent misfires? Seems like it should work,but just wondering if I'm missing something.
the_planet wrote:Trap music is not supported in the current version.

Asymmetricalmusic
Posts: 337
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 5:52 am

Re: Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Post by Asymmetricalmusic » Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:23 pm

I'm pretty sure that's why MIDI Channels even exist

have fun

gaijin1717
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:56 pm
Location: Oakland

Re: Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Post by gaijin1717 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:09 pm

That's what I do, and I even assign different parts on one device to different channels: Moog Sub Phatty on channel 1, Korg ESX keyboard parts on channels 3 and 4, and Korg EXS drum parts on channel 10. Works great.

Matt_Quinn
Posts: 517
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Post by Matt_Quinn » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:19 pm

Awesome, thanks guys.

Related: does this graphic represent all the MIDI info the APC40 sends, and if so, does that mean I need to dedicate 9 channels to it?

Image
the_planet wrote:Trap music is not supported in the current version.

gaijin1717
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:56 pm
Location: Oakland

Re: Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Post by gaijin1717 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:45 pm

Those aren't channels - they represent notes and control change info. I think you could set up the ACP in Live so that it sends/receives info on all channels. Then, set your external gear up to receive send on specific channels. That way you can use the APC to control everything.

Matt_Quinn
Posts: 517
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Post by Matt_Quinn » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:49 pm

Well, unless I'm reading this wrong, all the messages for column 1 are sent on Midi channel 1, column 2 sent on 2, etc. Volume sliders all use CC 7 on their respective track's channel, etc. It uses 9 different channels that I can see - obviously not every note and CC on each of those 9 channels, but probably smart to start at channel 10 with my other gear.
the_planet wrote:Trap music is not supported in the current version.

gaijin1717
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:56 pm
Location: Oakland

Re: Should I assign each piece of gear it's own MIDI channel?

Post by gaijin1717 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:01 pm

You're correct - I didn't even notice that part. My bad. Just keep in mind that you don't have to do it this way. But you could.

Post Reply